Blessings From Mid March

. at . 12 comments

Susanne at Living to Tell the Story, hosts a blessing meme each week. We list five things we are grateful for from the previous week. You can write your own post and link up there or leave a comment here sharing blessings from your past week.

Here are five things from this week’s gratitude list . . . 

1. Driver’s License – Renewed on time even though I waited until the last-minute to make this happen. I was  in the DMV for only 45 minutes and everyone I talked to was pleasant.

I had to get a new photo taken. When I said I hoped the new picture would be better than the old one, the gentleman helping me said, “Well, it will look like you.” (Was that a dis?) “Yes,” I replied. “But I’d like it to look like my idealized self as opposed to my dragon lady look.”

NOTE: I received my license today (Friday) and the picture is GREAT. I don’t care how much weight I lose this year, I am NEVER giving up this license!

My muscles and joints are not very pliant so I wasn't able to bend down to gracefully roll the ball ALONG the floor. I am afraid I delivered many "plonks" ONTO the floor.

2. Birthday Bash – I turned 54 on Monday and have been celebrated all week: Homemade goodies, a lecture and worship with a long-time friend (30 years+ strong), 2 dinners, the traditional ice cream waffles, and time with my kiddos.

Of course gifts were in the mix as were birthday greetings via cards, phone, texts, Facebook, and email. I even had a bowling party. Yes, bowling at my age!

3. Good Health Report – A friend got back the results from a CT scan on her liver. The tumour and lymph nodes shrunk some. Still 30 weeks left of treatment for her cancer, but for today, this is good news. If you think about it, please pray for ME and family.

4. Rosetta Stone for Spanish – Generous gift made it possible to buy this program. I am looking forward to putting this program to use to reach my goal of becoming fluent.

A small group of us are forming a Spanish support group. We will gather once or twice a week to practice our lessons. Another friend who is fluent in Spanish will act as our guide when we get together for a conversation group.

If you are looking for a free online course, check out SpanishDict.com. We are only in the beginning phases of using this program, but it looks helpful. As soon as the Rosetta Stone CD’s arrive, I will spend my time using these instead of SpanishDict.com.

I rather like this effect!

5. Cool Features on Photo Program  – At my bowling party I was fiddling with a new setting and many of the pictures came out blurry. I don’t have a lot photos of me with my kiddos so I was disappointed these didn’t turn out.

Then I tried pencil sketch on Picassa 3 and this was the result.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

I am 54 Can We Set Boundaries and Still be a Loving Person?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    Glad you had a wonderful birthday week! Belated greetings! 🙂 That’s a fun pic of you and the kids!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Theresa. As you know I like that picture. I am going to get it printed. I found a place that prints 5×7’s for $0.58 a piece.

      Like

  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    Happy Birthday! sounds like you had a great week..that pic is so neat! I speak a little french and can count to 10 in spanish but….my oldest is fluent in french and my youngest is becoming very good in russian! i think it’s fun to try new languages and your support group sounds like the perfect place to practice! have a great weekend

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      My, Faith, you have quite the international household.:) I like languages too. After I become fluent in Spanish, I’d like to tackle Italian. I LOVE how it sounds.

      Like

  • 5. Hope  |  . at .

    Happy birthday!! I haven’t been bowling in so long. Now I want to! Love your pencil sketch! Sounds like a good week.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for the birthday greeting, Hope. I was surprised I did so well bowling because I am so stiff. I used to bowl when I was a teenager.

      I’d like to go again, but first I will check out some youtube videos on the mechanics and practice. Wii bowling is not an effective way to practice for the real thing.

      Like

  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    Happy Birthday to you! Looks like you had very fun celebrations. I love bowling, lots of fun.

    Love the fun things you can do with the effects on some of these photo programs.

    I saw at the library that iphone has some kind of app that teaches you how to speak all sorts of languages. Spanish is one language I think I would love to learn. It sounds so lovely to the ear.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Belted happy birthday greetings to you! You’re the same age I am, only a few months younger. I like bowling even though my muscles aren’t pliant either.

    Glad you got your drover’s license in good time with a pleasant photo to boot!

    Glad for the good health report for your friend.

    Love that photo effect! Will have to see if my camera has that.

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. susan2009  |  . at .

      My camera does not have this app since mine is not a complicated one. But I do have a free photo program, Picasa, and that’s where I am learning to do such things.

      Like

  • 10. Melanie Lopata  |  . at .

    Oh Happy Birthday!!! The birthday bash sounds like it was FUN!!!

    You “only” spent 45 min at the DMV? Hahaa why does it always take so long in there??

    Glad your friend had a good health report!! Always a blessing.

    Like

    Reply
  • You love your drivers licence photo? That’s a first, and it made me laugh! I’m happy for you! That’s a birthday gift, for certain!

    I was happy to read about your fun celebrations, and your friend’s improving health.

    Aren’t the photo apps fun? When we have long waits the boys and I love to take pictures and then do crazy things to them.
    -Catherine

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Jerri  |  . at .

    I love the pencil sketch! I’d definitely frame it!

    Hmmm…not too many people love their driver’s license photo … glad you do!

    Happy birthday to you and may the upcoming year find you crossing more items off your bucket list.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


