Grumpy Changed to Content as I Focused on Week’s Blessings

. at . 12 comments

This is being written in the wee morning hours of Friday. My asthma is acting up and I couldn’t sleep. So when I started this list, I grumpily thought, “There’s not much to be thankful for this week.”

But as I wrote, my memory righted itself. In truth I had to cut this list D-O-W-N to 5.

To read the FFF list of others or to share your own, go to Susanne’s meme, Friday’s Fave Five (FFF). Mine is below.

1. Reviewed. I did a last review of my Winter Bucket List. I enjoyed doing a monthly review during this 3 month to-do challenge. Because of this accountability I believe that I . . .

2. Dreamt. As I have noted elsewhere, I like to write lists. It is a fun exercise to try to capture some of my dreams and pin them to a list. Plus writing such a list works for me in regards to actually living a more focused life.

So this past week I wrote a Theological Bucket List, 11 Recipes & 1 Food Technique to Master List  and a Spring Bucket List. Does writing such lists help you accomplish more, pay attention better, or crystallize your thoughts as to who you are?

You know what’s cool about my Spring List? It is actually ALL doable for this next 3 month season! I LOVE being able to check off all the boxes on a to-do list. I think that’s going to happen with my Spring Bucket List 2012 pdf.

3. Listened. Rain poured and poured several days. I went to sleep with the sound of rain. I woke up to the sound of rain. I read and napped to the sound of rain. For some reason this sound is so soothing. And besides what I GOT out of it, we NEEDED the rain for the land.

4. Prayed. Monday is my favourite day because I have the opportunity to sit and share with my prayer partner. We don’t always understand about the heartaches in life. But we both KNOW Someone who does. We don’t always see immediate answers to our prayers. But we are both convinced our prayer is doing good. And it’s a privilege.

Two blessings of this prayer time are as follows: (1) It has deepened my trust in God. (2) It has given me a soul-friend.

5. Ate. After our staff meeting we usually go out to lunch. I got to pick the place this week in honour of my birthday (last week). I chose Thai food. I had a peanut sauce over chicken and steamed veggies. Absolutely delicious. And in honour of my birthday, I didn’t have to pay. 🙂

Your Turn . . . Which one of these verbs did you engage in this week?

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: .

Bucket List Index Filled Easter Eggs Needed

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. orples  |  . at .

    It’s hard to count sorrows and blessings at the same time. I think you have the right idea, in counting your blessings instead.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ellen  |  . at .

    Happy belated birthday. Sounds like FFF was a great exercise this week for sure. I love to check things off, too. Makes me feel like I’m headed in the right direction. We had a sermon on gratitude on Sunday and the pastor said that gratitude killers are complaining and comparing. Gratitude givers are the right attitude, acknowledging our blessings and Acting on our Gratitude. That has really stuck with me this week. I had a March birthday too. Blessings on your weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Laura Lee Groves  |  . at .

    I love, love, LOVE your #4! And I like the way you’ve split your bucket list idea into areas — theological, etc. Neat idea!

    Your title made me smile…that’s me all too often. FFF is the perfect exercise, isn’t it?

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Laura,
      Yes, doing the FFF is often the perfect antidote to grumpiness.
      I tried four time to comment on your FFF, but It just wouldn’t “take.” SO I emailed you instead.
      Hope your week is another blessed one.

      Like

  • 5. willowknits  |  . at .

    Great faves this week, Susan! I’m going to go back and read your bucket lists for Spring. I love lists too although so far this year I haven’t written anything down. I need to do that!
    Yes, the sound of rain is comforting (for a while) and yes, we do need it.
    Happy Birthday to you, too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. claudiawjohnson  |  . at .

    When I saw your bucket list, I felt very exhausted! I’m so glad you chose Thai food! It’s hard to beat!

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Claudia,

      It helps me to get these thoughts/ideas on paper because it gets them out of my head.This makes my head a quieter place.

      I know I won’t do all the items on my lists, but it is my dream-holding place. And when I know what my dreams are, I have more of an opportunity to fulfill them.

      My lists and reviews are also a sort of scrapbook and memory holder for when I look back.

      There is one dish at my favourite Thai restaurant that I never remember the name of. I want to go soon, take a picture of the menu and then learn to make it. I will think of you when I do, Claudia!

      Like

  • 8. Melanie Lopata  |  . at .

    I love when it rains!!!! And prayer time is great, especially when praying with a friend or family member.

    Happy Birthday!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Brenda  |  . at .

    Your intro is one of the reasons I ALWAYS do the Friday post. Just when I think there is nothing to be thankful for, I sit down to write and I think of many, many things that have actually gone right. Sometimes the wrong just overwhelms.

    I’ve been craving a little Thai food myself these days. Your food sounds wonderful

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Faith  |  . at .

    such interesting faves for your five faves list!!! I hope your allergies lessen soon…..have a refreshing and relaxing weekend!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Susanne  |  . at .

    I love to check things off a list too and love the idea of your seasonal lists.

    I love listening to any kind of water. Rain, creeks, waterfalls, fountains, even sprinklers. I too find it very relaxing!

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Grumpy Changed to Content as I Focused on Week’s Blessings […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


