Friday’s Fave Five April 27

. at . 9 comments

Purposefully reflecting on the past 7 days and looking for what makes me grateful, is a weekly exercise I greatly enjoy. Here are the top five from this 3rd week in April 2012.

1.  A CLEANED out supply closet. One of my volunteer teacher’s tackled the huge job of sorting the supply closet for children’s ministry. Last week she sorted the Kindergarten/1st Grade classroom. At one point while talking about the chore, Patricia said, “You can go now. I got it.” I smiled as I walked away.

2. Two VISITS with a British friend (Judy) I met during our England days. Judy and her husband now live in Washington state. She is in the area for 2 weeks on business. Judy is just as forthright AND as kind as I knew her to be. The visits have been fun and encouraging. We hope to have one more visit before she drives home next week.

3. CHOSEN to read and write a review on “You are a Writer (so start acting like it).” The book challenged me to (1) Write for myself. Write what makes sense to me. Use my style and my words.  (2) Stop using my energy in frivolous ways because I only have a finite amount of energy. So use my energy wisely. (3) Be brave and tenacious. (4) Believe and act like a writer because I am one.

4. Still so RELIEVED that taxes are done (several weeks ago). I am still feeling the whoosh of freedom of accomplishment. I want to remember this whoosh so that I can get myself motivated to finish those dreaded tasks earlier.

5. Ten people VOLUNTEERED to help in Children’s Ministry (CM). Pastor Mike told the congregation we’d have to stop CM during the second service unless we had more help. These 10 shared the same sentiment: they loved the kiddos and wanted to share Jesus with them.

Your Turn . . . What makes your top FIVE list from this past week?

To read more Friday’s Fave Fives, go here.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF). Tags: .

“Stop Waiting to be Asked and Start Creating,” says Jeff Goins, author of “You are a Writer: Start Acting Like One 5 Reasons I Love Spring

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynette  |  . at .

    Wow! 10 people, Pastor Mike got the message across last Sunday. The CM building is coming along with the cleaning. I can help more when school is out. See you Sunday.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. hanginoutwithgod  |  . at .

    Hi, Susan. I couldn’t get the comment window to come up on the “About Me” page, so I came here to comment. Just wanted to tell you that I have nominated you for the “Versatile Blogger” award. If you have received it previously, I apologize for missing it. Didn’t see it posted though, so hopefully I’m not out of line. You can find the details about the award on either of my sites: Here’s the link to the one I’m writing from: http://hanginoutwithgod.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/versatile-blogger-award/
    As with most of the awards, there are so-called “rules” involved in accepting it, mainly letting people know more about you and passing the award on to other bloggers. However, since the rules suggest passing it on to 15 others, I always like to tell people, please don’t fee pressured by that. Pass it on to only those that you feel you know well enough to consider truly versatile and that you have time to contact. I nominated only 5 for now, but I will add more as I get to know more. I also never pass on an award unless I think it fits the blogger, and this award certainly fits you.
    So congratulations on the versatility of your blog. Enjoy the honor.
    Sandra

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    great list of faves this week! yay for volunteers in Sunday School and YAY for friends visiting, clean supply closets and taxes being done! When I saw our refunds had been deposited it was SUCH a great feeling! lol….havea super weekend

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Brenda  |  . at .

    So many nice things in your week! Help cleaning a closet is always good, and visiting with old friends is wonderful. I’m interested to hear more about your writing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    Yay for volunteers in to work in the Children’s ministry with you. That is always such a hard area to fill.

    Help with the cleaning of closets would definitely be a fave with me. :v)

    Glad you are getting lots out of the writing book.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Isn’t it a terrific feeling when a space is cleaned and organized?? And by someone else 😉 Your week sounds great, Susan with help and meaningful visits and sighs of relief to have those taxes done. I like to do them as early as possible.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. thissimplemom  |  . at .

    Walking away while trusting someone is great!

    So glad people will be serving alongside of you in your second service. It makes all the difference!

    Enjoy the remainder of the weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. willowknits  |  . at .

    Ten people volunteering is great! And so is a clean and organized supply closet – especially if someone else did it. Enjoy your time with your friend. Those re-meetings are precious times.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. blessedmama3  |  . at .

    Wow, Patricia did a great job! We sure are blessed to have her step up in Children’s Ministries. And, I’m so glad to hear the number 10! I was really stressed about second service.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


