5 Reasons I Love Spring

. at . 5 comments

Tree branches mobbed by pink blossoms

Tree branches mobbed by pink blossoms

After the heaviness of winter – the foods, the clothing, the weather, and even people’s moods – I rejoice in the lightness of spring.  Robin Williams once said, “Spring is nature’s way of saying, “Let’s party!”

There are almost 3 more weeks of spring (March 20 – June 19), so before it is gone, let me declare 5 Reasons I Love Spring.

1. Varying weather. Typically our northern California summer weather  is a constant  – blue skies and hot. But our spring months fluctuate. The weather changes from cold and rainy days to mild days (60-70 degrees) of light breeze to some days of hot, cloudless skies. Yesterday it was 103 degrees and Monday the high is supposed to be 71 degrees. I love this variety.

“The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.” E.E. Cummings

Your Turn . . . Tell us what your spring months are like. 

2. Sensory delight.  It’s like the sights, sounds, tastes, and smells are the decorations Spring has put out for the “party” that Robin Williams mentioned.

  • Sights: trees and bushes mobbed by pink or white blossoms … clusters of vibrant spring flowers in the yard and on the kitchen table … people freshening their home’s landscape
  • Sounds: lawn mower … laughing children … chirps, tweets, and songs of birds … roaring encouragement of fans at swim meets and soccer, baseball, and rugby games

    I love dipping the fresh berries in chocolate or yogurt (freeze them and what a tasty treat). They are also great in smoothies or scattered on top of cereal.

  • Tastes: apricots … asparagus … avocado … Vidalia onions … cherries … spinach and other greens … strawberries … Except for asparagus and onions, the others are ideal options for smoothies.
  • Smells: fragrant flowers … freshly mown grass … the first minutes of rain-soaked cement … These last two are two of my favourite smells.

“Can words describe the fragrance of the very breath of spring? ” Neltje Blanchan

Your Turn . . . Tell us what sensory delights you most enjoy in the Spring.

3. Hope renews. Spring is synonymous with rebirth. We see this in nature:
  • Multitudes of flowers pushing their way up from darkness
  • Animals (wild and domestic) being born
  • Chicks hatching
  • The greening of the general landscape

Attending my first rugby game. My niece, Kadie, loves this sport. She is patient with my terminology blunders.

“The day the Lord created hope was probably the same day He created Spring.”  Bern Williams

People are not immune to this rebirth either. Longer days of light cast away the depression of winter. Hope creeps into conscious thought and plans are laid for improvement.
  • Exercise schedules are resumed.
  • Gardens are created (planter boxes in the patio count).
  • There is a reconnection with nature and outside movement: hiking, walking in the rain, picnics, kite flying, biking.
  • Spring cleaning leads to decluttering which leads to yard sales.
  • For me exercise, outdoor chores, decluttering, and accomplishing bullet points from my life plan become more consistent because of an improved and motivated mood. I.e. I am doing really well on learning Spanish!!!

“Spring is the time of plans and projects.” Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina
I read this Tolstoy book on my kindle last year and loved it (both the book and the device I used to read it).

Your Turn . . . Tell us what plans and projects you are planning and accomplishing.

4. Yearly reads. There are three books I read almost every spring: The Secret Garden, Practicing His Presence, and Knowing God. All three books give me an emotional boost. They revitalize my spirit and get me looking forward to whatever life has for me.

“Is the spring coming?” he said. “What is it like?”…

“It is the sun shining on the rain and the rain falling on the sunshine…”

Francis Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

Your Turn . . . Tell us if there is a book you read every spring.
5. Graduations. Even though graduations can be long and hot (if the ceremony is out doors like the one I attended last night), I love attending graduations because I get to  …
  • Support the grad. It is fun to express pride and congratulations for a job well

    I came to this graduation specifically for one grad, but I was happy for and prayed for the lot of them.

    done. For many grads getting to the stage to receive the diploma means lots of hard work in terms of  . . . studying, relationships, and maturing.

  • Pray. I do this silently and quickly for each name as it is called. I don’t typically know most of the students, but God does. And I believe He hears and honours the prayers.
  • Hear the speakers. Most of the talks include similar lines such as “This is not the end of our lives; it is the beginning,” “This school will always remember us,” and “We can accomplish anything we set our minds to.”  .  .  .    As “cheesy” as they may sound, I love the enthusiasm they express. I get all enthused too and wish I were part of this great crowd. I always leave with the determination to accomplish my goals and make a difference in the world around me.

Your Turn . . . Tell us your take on graduations.

Of course there are more things to love about spring . . . going barefoot . . . prettily painted toenails peeping out of sandals . . . twirling my green Mickey Mouse umbrella in the rain . . . discovering shells from newly hatched birds . . . celebrating my birthday, Easter, and Mother’s day . . .

 . . . Your Turn . . . What are your feelings about Spring? List some of your favourite things.

This is the 17th post in the “5 Reasons I Love . . .” Series. Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about. The next and also the last post (most likely) in this series is 5 Reasons I Love Social Media.

I wrote this post (#1) for the 28-Day Blog Challenge for Authors.

Related Posts . . .

Entry filed under: Main.

Friday’s Fave Five April 27 I Can’t Share Hobbiton Photos, But I Can Share Thoughts: how relentelss evil will come to an end

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. reflectionsinapuddle  |  . at .

    I love spring… but I don’t need a reason to love it 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Natalie,

      Until I wrote this post, I didn’t know why I loved spring. But writing about it, made me conscious of my “love” and as a consequence I am grateful.

      I need all the help I can to become a more grateful person.

      I am grateful for your comment. 🙂

      Like

  • 3. Kathi Cooper Laughman  |  . at .

    Great idea for a series of posts. And I love that you chose the seasons to begin the author blog challenge. So often we focus on only the changing sights of the seasons. How lovely to be reminded that each season has such a vast profile and personality! Just thinking about all of the senses only and layering in the smells and tastes of the seasons really brings it to life. Looking forward to more in the series.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for your comment, Kathi.

      I LOVE how you worded this sentence: “How lovely to be reminded that each season has such a vast profile and personality!”

      Right now I only intend to write one more post for this series, but we’ll see where it goes.

      BTW – I love your banner picture on FB.

      Like

  • […] Spring […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


