Love in a Box

. at . 2 comments

Fall is typically a time when there are many opportunities to help others. The project I am working on now is filling boxes for Operation Christmas Child. Lots of different items in a shoe box surely say love. I intended on filling only one box, but per normal, I bought too much to fit into one box.

Listen to this song, Love in a Box. It was recorded by Melisa Bester when she was 8 years old. It shares how a child might feel opening up an OCC box filled with love.

Posing with my packed Operation Christmas Child shoe box. Of course I bought too much stuff, so I will end up packing another box.

So tomorrow I will head back to The Dollar Store to pick up a plastic shoe box and a few more goodies to finish filling up another box.

You can use either a cardboard shoe box or a plastic one. I usually use a plastic one because then the child can use it long-term.

I have an idea. Why don’t you join me?

This video is from Samaritans Purse on how to pack a great shoe box.

OCC suggests  that we pick something from each of the categories. . . . 

Contents of my box for a girl 10-14.

  • Something to Wear
  • Something to Love
  • School Item
  • Something Special
  • Something to Play With
  • Hygiene Item

For a full list of acceptable items to fill up your box, go to this link for suggestions.

If you live in my area, Cordova Neighborhood Church is a collection center from November 12-19. Otherwise go to this link to find the nearest drop off locations.

Your Turn

  1. How do you help others during the holidays?
  2. Do you fill up a shoe box for OCC? If yes, share your photo with us.

NOTE: This is the 2nd photo in my series, A Fall of Self Portraits, from my Fall Bucket List.

Related Posts

Entry filed under: Main.

Hair & Memorizing 7 Reasons to Drink Smoothies for Breakfast

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


