Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 9 comments

It’s Friday, so it must be time to list five blessings from this past week. Susanne from Living to Tell the Story is the host of this weekly meme. Write your own list and link up here. Or leave a comment with one or five of your own blessings from this week.

This serves 3 sensible portions or 1 piggish person.

 

Caramel Apple Salad. I LOVE caramel apples: the milky caramel slathered on fresh apples that have been festooned with nuts and chocolate. BUT I don’t like biting INTO the apple. I am not a big fan of the mess it makes on the face. And it hurts my teeth because the apples are too big. So this week I made a caramel apple salad. Yummy. Each bite had that perfect blend of apple-to-caramel ratio! The recipe is here.

Not telling (yet) which one is THE 2012 ornament.

 

Snowman Ornament. Each year I give a snowman ornament to my sister’s girls and my daughter. I buy the same one for myself as well. If my son wants mine, they are his when I die. (He doesn’t want them now.) Instead of fighting all the holiday gear that is out, I joined the masses and already picked up this year’s ornament. And it was 65% off. Gotta love coupons.

I filled 3 boxes because I found so many good deals.

 

Operation Christmas Child Boxes. It is so cool that I can impact a child’s life by filling a shoe box with goodies like hygiene items, something to wear, toys, school supplies, and a cuddly something. For many, this is the first time they’ve ever received a gift. Shopping sales made this an economical tithing venture.

 

These note cards will be a delight to use.

 

Note Cards. I am going to be a first-time grandma about February 4th. Nora is the other grandma. She sent me some lovely note cards to introduce herself and to thank me for loving her daughter (the baby’s mama). Her daughter, Daniella, is soooo easy to love, (as is my son, Tim). I was touched beyond words by this act of kindness

 

Bible Study. Oh, my. What a great study (66 Love Letters). What a great group of people (11 ladies and 1 guy). On Wednesday night we had a moving time of prayer, sharing insights and trials, and homework that will take us out of our comfort zone – in a good way. In a godly way. I am blessed to be able to partner with this group.

Your Turn . . . Share a blessing from your week.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: , .

Caramel Apple Salad 10 Things to do When Your Energy is Low

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I’ve heard 66 Love Letters is good but I haven’t checked into it yet.

    What a lovely gesture from Daniella’s mom.

    The snowman ornaments are cute! There are so many more choices now before they get picked over, and especially great to have a good coupon for them.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. jerralea  |  . at .

    Thank you for sharing the caramel apple salad recipe – I’m definitely going to be trying that.

    66 Love Letters – hadn’t heard of it before, but again, something I will definitely be looking into.

    Daniella’s mom is so thoughtful … I want to be like that!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Brenda  |  . at .

    That caramel apple salad sounds pretty amazing! I’ve been fortunate enough to be on the other end of the Christmas child boxes and dispersed them in other countries, they are really a blessing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Gattina  |  . at .

    How wonderful that you become a grandma ! It changes your life completely !

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Annette {This Simple Mom}  |  . at .

    Your apple salad looks GOOD!

    Congrats on becoming a grandma! I have a good relationship with my MIL…only strengthened with the grandchildren!

    I thought I’d tell you that the aprons I made are child size…you would have to adjust for yourself…but super easy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Susanne  |  . at .

    Welcome back! It’s nice to see you joining in again!

    My mouth is watering with that “salad”. I’ve copied the recipe and will be trying it for sure. I love caramel apples but you are so right in that they are hard to bite! I love the chocolate ones too. But not too many extras and not the hard ones.

    Congratulations soon to be Grandma. How exciting. And what a nice things for the other grandma to do!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Laura  |  . at .

    Caramel Apple Salad? Oh, be still, my heart! I copied that one down right away!!

    Congrats on being a grandmom, and how sweet of the other grandmom to send you notecards.

    Have a great week ahead!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Hey, you’re back! Glad to have you with the FFF bunch again. I like your deconstruction of caramel apples. Your salad sounds great and calling it a “salad” must make it even more virtuous 🙂 The notecards were a thoughtful gift. You are way ahead of me in the Christmas gifting department!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. willowknits  |  . at .

    Congratulations Susan on the expected arrival of a grandchild! I’m finally getting a few minutes to pop over, say hi and read your faves for this week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


