Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 11 comments

Friday’s Fave Five is brought to you by Susanne from Living to Tell the Story. It’s simple. Share your five favourite “thankful” moments from the past week. Do so in the comments or on your blog and link up to Susanne here.

These are five of my favourite things from this past week that on my gratitude list.

  1. Orange smoothie. Oh yum. Tasty, healthy, and easy to make. I tweaked the original recipe a little. Blend all of the following together:
    • 1/2 cup of orange juice
    • 1/2 cup of milk (cow, almond, rice, etc.) or yogurt (plain, Greek, or orange flavoured)
    •  1/4 tsp orange extract
    • 1 tsp of powdered sugar (more if your tastebuds are unhappy)
    • one handful of spinach
    • 6 ice cubes (of water , milk, or orange juice)
    • I also add a scoop of Raw Meal.
  2. 2 camels and a donkey in front of my book case, in the shade of the palm tree, are waiting for their “cardboard” surgery.

    Cardboard cutouts. Years ago someone made nativity cardboard cut-outs. We use varying pieces in the yearly children’s Christmas play at church. I am grateful that someone took the time to make such quality figures that have lasted at least 10 years. A little repair needs to happen on some hooves, an ear, and a neck. After that’s done, I bet they’ll be good for another 10 years.

  3. Scooping Mulch. A friend was scooping mulch from the mounds SMUD dumped on the church property. It was legit – there’s a FREE MULCH sign on the sometimes steamy mounds. I went out and helped her. And you know what? It felt good for 4 reasons. (1) I was using my muscles. (2) I got to visit with my friend. (3) I got to help my friend. She is a self-sufficient woman and I don’t normally get to help her with anything. (4) It was work that stayed done! So much of my work is intangible or is of a repeating nature. So it is especially satisfying when I get to do something that stays done.  😉
  4. Traditions. I buy my godson a Christmas book each year. I plan on doing this until he is 25. By then he’ll have a book to read each day until Christmas. By the time he is 25 years old, I wonder if he will be reading the books to his children?  I buy the same book for myself. . . . This year’s book (2012) is called Song of the Stars: A Christmas Story by Sally Lloyd-Jones.
  5. Cinnamon tooth paste. I happened to find this at the dollar store. Nicely tingly and leaves my mouth feeling clean. This reminds me that I am grateful for healthy teeth and a dental office that is gentle, professional, and very good at what they do. Thanks Dr. Jill and Everyone else!

________________________________________________

During November I am writing or posting a photo about something for which I am grateful. This explains why.  This FFF is my gratitude posting for November 15, 2012.

______________________________________________

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Sending Thanks to a State Employee – Gratitude Project 16 Ways to Comfort Yourself, Part 1/3

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathie  |  . at .

    I understand where you’re coming from on a job that stays done!! So satisfying. I planted bulbs last week – now if only my kitty doesn’t dig them up!!

    Thanks for the book recommendation – and the Christmas story idea . I’ll start it this year with my new grand-daughter. I’ve already given her Sally Lloyd-Jones Jesus Story-book Bible and I have my own copy. A wonderful book!

    Happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Kathy, I love Sally Lloyd-Jones’ Jesus Story-book Bible. We give one to each toddler who moves up to the preschool room (at our church). So when I saw a review on this Christmas book I knew I had to get it. It is a sweet story.

      I hope your kitty doesn’t dig up your bulbs. It is always so fun to see where and how many bulbs will come up in the Spring.

      Like

  • 3. Mrs. C  |  . at .

    Books are always wonderful gifts; I like that idea!

    I’ve never tried cinnamon toothpaste, but I like cinnamon gum, so maybe I’ll have to look for it.

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello Mrs. C,
      I’ve been an Aquafresh toothpaste girl for years. Then 2 years ago a friend introduced me to orange toothpaste which I liked. So when I saw this cinnamon flavour, I knew I had to try it. I am glad I did.
      I hope your weekend is a good one too.

      Like

  • 5. tiny napping house  |  . at .

    I love getting a good work out while helping do something useful. I like cinnamon toothpaste also. I don’t like orange or bubblegum though. YUCK!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. butterfly wishes wonderland dreams  |  . at .

    love your tradition you are building great memories with you god son that he can pass down to his kids! 🙂 Love the recipe for the orange smoothie. hubby is having some dental surgery next week and this smoothie might just hit the spot when he is on liquid/soft diet.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Gattina  |  . at .

    I am not so for sweet drinks, or things in general. I like the idea with the cardboard figures ! Looks nice !

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Glad you got to help with the mulch for all the reasons mentioned!

    Spinach in a smoothie? Hmmm. At first I thought that last ingredient was raw meat rather than raw meal — that one gave me even more pause, LOL!

    Those cardboard cutouts are neat!

    Love your book tradition.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Pamela  |  . at .

    Great list. Books are so special indeed. I made a list of my own and will try to get it posted on Facebook tonight. My five points are Company, Potluck, Acting, Health & Warmth, and Appreciation.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Fun idea for 25 Christmas books 🙂 Your smoothie also sounds delicious. You are working hard at your health! Good for you to work those muscles and spend time with a friend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Susanne  |  . at .

    My daughter loves cinnamon toothpaste.

    I love passing on my love of reading by giving books for Christmas and that’s what all my dayhome kids get.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 641 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


