16 Ways to Comfort Yourself, Part 3/3

. at . Leave a comment

Un-managed stress can adversely affect your body, thoughts, emotions, sleep cycle, and relationships. You can  manage stress by learning how to provide yourself with comfort.

The Holidays often bring extra stress to an already stressed life. Managing your stress is a key to enjoying life and protecting your health. This last post in a three-part series in “comfort” lists some additional ways to comfort yourself.

Comfort of Nature

The richness of the rain made me feel safe and protected; I have always considered the rain to be healing — a blanket — the comfort of a friend. Without at least some rain in any given day, or at least a cloud or two on the horizon, I feel overwhelmed by the information of sunlight and yearn for the vital, muffling gift of falling water. Douglas Coupland, Life After God

Your Turn . . . What in nature brings you comfort?

Some people prefer bright sunshine and sunbathing makes them feel cheery. I don’t care for being in the bright, hot sun. But being in a sun-filtered forest filled with chirping birds, wind-strewn leaves, moss-covered trees, and muffled streams comforts me.

Rainbows, windy days, and walking along the beach also bring me comfort.

Comfort of People

No, I like being a role model because I know how much comfort my musical idols brought me.  Shirley Manson

It was a huge comfort to have a person who’d keep you honest with yourself and who also gave you safe harbour. Lauren Dane, Taking Care of Business

Families are the compass that guide us. They are the inspiration to reach great heights, and our comfort when we occasionally falter. Brad Henry

Oh the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all right out, just as they are. Dinah Maria Mulock

When you get lost in a really strange place, nothing is more comforting than found your friend whom you trust and can show the way. Toba Beta, My Ancestor Was an Ancient Astronaut

Your Turn . . . Do you find comfort with a particular person or group of people? If yes, who and why?

There are several individuals in whose company I feel comfort. I feel this way because we have common interests like crafting, cooking, blogging, and/or talking about God and growing in His Word. And we accept one another for who we are, stray chin hairs and all.

Comfort of Possessions

But Piglet is so small that he slips into a pocket, where it is very comfortable to feel him when you are not quite sure whether twice seven is twelve or twenty-two. A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Poohlike a blankie or stuffed animal

Your Turn . . . What possessions bring you comfort?

I want to say my photos are my most comforting possessions. But I am not good about organizing them or printing them. I think that my lifestyle shows that books are my most comforting possessions. I come back to them again and again to renew my thinking, comfort my spirits, and bring me close to God.

Comfort of Rituals

There is a comfort in rituals, and rituals provide a framework for stability when you are trying to find answers. Deborah Norville

Your Turn . . . Do you have rituals? Which ones bring you comfort?

I am not a very ritualized person. But I do have one ritual that brings me great comfort. For the past 6 years or so my family and I have gone to the ocean for Thanksgiving. We take all the traditional food, chairs, firewood, wind break, blankets, and toys and set up for the day and evening.

While growing up Thanksgiving was about eating too much and watching TV (Macy’s Day Parade and football). This newer ritual is about the comfort of being with family and friends and taking in the majesty and comfort of the ocean.

Comfort of Words

Sometimes I’m so deeply buried under self-reproaches that I long for a word of comfort to help me dig myself out again. Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

Tell us please, what treatment in an emergency is administered by ear?”….I met his gaze and I did not blink. “Words of comfort,” I said to my father. Abraham Verghese, Cutting for Stone

“Once upon a time,” he said out loud to the darkness. He said these words because they were the best, the most powerful words that he knew and just the saying of them comforted him. Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux

Words of comfort, skillfully administered, are the oldest therapy known to man. Louis Nizer

Your Turn . . . Are there words that always bring you comfort? Who says them? Do you hear them often enough? Why or why not?

The words said during communion always bring me comfort. They remind me of God’s immense, eternal love and forgiveness.

I like being addressed with the words “Auntie” and “God-Mother.” They bring me a sense of place and belonging which comforts me.

Two previous posts in this series discuss other ways of providing self-comfort.

  1. Go here for Part 1 (activity, animals, authors, being right, books)
  2. Go here for Part 2 (drink, example, food, God, home, music).
  3. This is Part 3 (nature, people, possessions, rituals, words), the final post in this series.

_________________________________________

During November I am writing or posting a photo about something for which I am grateful. This explains why. 

Gratitude for November 23: I am grateful for ancestors who came to America from the Old World in order to find a free place to worship. I am grateful for their perseverance and example. I am grateful that at least one ancestor followed God with love, dedication, and intelligence. That ancestor was Benjamin Rush.

I am thinking about my ancestors because yesterday was Thanksgiving. And this time of year always reminds me of the first Thanksgiving and the people who were living in New England.

______________________________________________

Your Turn . . . 

  • What is your favourite and most immediate way of self-soothing?
  • Which of the above tools do you use?
  • What would you add to the list?
  • Which one(s) would you like to try today or this week?

Related Post . . . Peaceful Ending to a Wonderful Day in a Land of the Long White Cloud

 

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , .

Five Reasons I am Thankful for Thanksgiving 5 Things I Do When Watching TV

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
10 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


