Five People Blessings & 5 Ways to Celebrate Them

. at . 2 comments

fff winter button (1)It’s time to link up to Friday’s Fave Five. This is where we share five blessings and link up at Susanne’s blog, Living to Tell the Story.

I am blessed to have special people in my life. And at times I get to celebrate them. Here are 5 ways I celebrated the people for which I am grateful for this week.

1. Birthday shindig. An awesome lady, Reva, had her 90th birthday last week. We had a birthday shindig, not to be confused with birthday party, for her. The theme was “This is Your Life” and the food theme was a decadent dessert potluck buffet! I brought orange chocolate chip cookies. Elvis made an appearance and sang.

Many family members flew in, unknown to Reva, to surprise her. Letters, from others who couldn’t be there, shared memories of times with our birthday girl. Of course there was a time for folks there to share too by a story or card.

2. Meal. Cynthia and Andy added another son to their family. I was honored to take a meal over to them, crockpot beef stew.  I thought ahead and made extra so I’d have dinner for a couple of days for myself. The meal was a treat for them and for me (since I don’t cook much anymore).

3. Prayer. One of our Wednesday night Bible study ladies had a birthday that night. And she was attending our group. So after a few emails, it was settled. We had a surprise birthday party complete with homemade cake, peanut butter frosting, and a card. Candles, ice cream, and soda were also part of this festive menu.

My favourite part of the evening was the prayer. Before we even started our group, we gathered around Roberta and prayed for her concerns and blessed her. We almost didn’t get to eat as I forgot all about it until I said the final closing prayer and looked at the table laden with s-o-f-t ice cream and all the other goodies. Good thing no one had to leave right away!!!

4. Doing-what-the-birthday-person-loves-to-do party. My son, Tim, celebrated his 3oth birthday. Instead of a regular party, he had a “let’s go see a hockey game” party. Hockey is one of Tim’s sports loves. (He is an avid Colorado Avalanche fan.) I am sure it was a great night. I haven’t been feeling that well so I didn’t drive to the Bay Area and join in. I am sad, but I was promised there’d be pictures on Facebook.

5. Handmade. In a week or so, a baby girl is joining our family, my first grandchild. Many conversations with my nieces and daughter end in, “And we are having a new baby soon.” I think the whole family is as excited as Tim and Daniella (the parents). Kadie and I have been talking about making something for the baby.  I bought yarn and she’s going to loom-knit a hat and we will knit a baby blanket together.

Your Turn . . . Who have you celebrated recently? . . . What is a way you celebrate the people in your life?

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five (1-11-13) Grow Your Blog Party

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathie  |  . at .

    What wonderful celebrations this week – so honouring of family and friends. Congratulations on the soon arrival of your grand-daughter. Our little grandgirl is the sweetest blessing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. willowknits  |  . at .

    Wow, lots of celebrations! Births and birthdays. You had a great week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


