God’s Love is AMAZING

. at . 6 comments

.,m,m

But God demonstrated His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

We are headstrong, wanting to live life our own way, often dismissing God’s plan for our lives (Isaiah 53:6)Yes, we are sinners (Romans 3: 9-10; 23). All of us.

People think I don’t sin because  . . .

  • I have been a Believer for over 40 years.
  • I am too old to sin.
  • I work at a church.
  • I teach a Bible study.
  • I am a pastor.

But I do sin. And I get discouraged about my short-comings.

And yet God loves me, you, us. He wants us to have a relationship with Him. And despite our flaws, God extends His amazing love to me, you, us.

His love for us is amazing: causing great surprise or sudden wonder; astonishing, awe-inspiring, and awesome. This truth encourages me to repent and continue growing my relationship with God.

Below are a few of my favourite verses about how God’s amazing love presents itself.

  • We are created in the image of God. (Genesis 1:26-27)
  • God knows the number of hairs on our head. (Matthew 10:30)
  • He loves us with an everlasting love. (Jeremiah 31:3)
  • He makes the continual effort to know our thoughts and actions. (Psalm 139:2-4)
  • The Holy Spirit and Jesus pray for us. (Romans 8:27,34; Hebrews 7:25)
  • God sent Jesus to die on the Cross for us so that we can have an eternal relationship with Him. (John 3:16-18)
  • Salvation is a gift with no strings attached. Ephesians 2:8
  • He wants all to receive salvation. (2 Peter 3:9)

Our pastor showed this video in church last year. It has 50 verses about God the Father’s love for you and me. Go here to see the verses on one page.

In summary, we are meaningful to God. Wayne Grudem (seminary professor and theologian)  states . . . 

“Is there any significance to our existence or to the existence of the rest of creation? In response it must be said that we are in fact very meaningful because God has created us and determined that we would be meaningful to him. That is the final definition of genuine significance.”                            (Grudem, 1994, p. 162, Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine).

This knowledge causes me to want to worship God. Here is a song to get you started: Amazing Love by the Newsboys. Here is the first stanza . . .

I’m forgiven because You were forsaken
I’m accepted, You were condemned
I’m alive and well, Your Spirit is within me
Because You died and rose again

Your Turn . . . 

  1. How does God’s love impact you?
  2. Have you made a decision to love Him back by accepting His offer of salvation?
  3. What verses would you add to my list?

Related Posts

  1. Nothing Matches God’s Power, Love and Justice – Even If It Looks Contrary
  2. I Am Written on God’s Hand
NOTE: This post is written for the Blogging From A to Z Challenge. There are 22 categories and my category is MI = Miscellaneous.
During the month of April I will post 26 times finishing up posts that have been in my draft fie for at least a year. For a list of all the posts got o the A-Z button on my header.
Today’s letter is A. The topic is the AMAZING love of God.
Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five – Last One in March B: What to do With a Tattered BIBLE

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sherileec  |  . at .

    Lovely post. Thank you for being real about your life and your relationship with God. I too am amazed at God’s endless love for us, even though I know He must get sad when he looks down on our petty and stupid behavior. Learning to live in His will is the best work I can do with my life. Remembering that every morning as I head out to do MY will… that’s the trick.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Sheri, Sure is great that God’s love is soooo patient. I wan to become more patient with myself and others.

      Good thought – “Learning to live in His will is the best work I can do with my life.”

      Like

  • 3. Katherine Skye  |  . at .

    It nice to see a real post. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for stopping by, Katherine. I look forward to seeing all you share during this challenge.

      Like

  • 5. Joe Owens  |  . at .

    I find myself in good company. I also chose to focus on a Christian theme for my first post: Absolution. I will likely skip around, but if I feel strongly I can elaborate on more Christian based themes i will do my best with them.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Joe. Thanks for stopping by.

      This A-Z challenge will test me in many ways: diligence, good writing, clear thinking. And I am sure i will benefit to by doing the above and getting the chance to read new-to-me blogs.

      I look forward to reading your thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


