6 Actions to Take This Spring that Will Put a Spring in Your Step

. at . Leave a comment

There aren't any roses on my patio wall. But there is an assortment of shade-loving plants. They are filling in so nicely now.

There aren’t any roses on my patio wall. But there is an assortment of shade-loving plants. They are filling in so nicely now.

Are you good about stopping to smell the roses? I’m not.

Also I rarely take enough time to savour victories or a job well done. And I am usually looking ahead to the next event or challenge.

So it is no surprise that even though Spring is only 2/3 done, I am already anticipating the to-do’s of Summer. However, I woke up this morning thinking about Spring and what I can still get out of it.

Below are 7 Spring quotes that point me in the direction of fully savouring Spring. There are still 31 days which separate Spring from Summer.

ONE. NATURE. I am going to try to pay attention to the spring. I am going to look around at all the flowers, and look up at the hectic trees. I am going to close my eyes and listen. ~ Anne Lamott

Every morning when I leave my home and when I come home in the evening, I pause a minute to check out the flowers growing on my balcony wall. I look to see how they’ve grown and to admire the beauty of the colours and shapes of the leaves and flowers. Doing this makes me happy and peaceful.

So how come I don’t do that other places and times?  I haven’t made a purposeful choice to do so.

INTENTION. But for the next 31 days I am going to make it a habit to REALLY look at the world around me taking note of  beauty. I will write down 3 things each day either on my calendar or Facebook profile page.

Join me?

TWO. OUTSIDE.  Spring won’t let me stay in this house any longer! I must get out and breathe the air deeply again. ~ Gustav Mahler

I am more of an indoors person (except for when I am at the ocean). I don’t like to get hot or sunburned. I am more prone to be sedentary than active.

However, I KNOW how good it is for me to get an appropriate amount of sunshine each day. How good it makes my body feel when I move around.

INTENTION. The best way for me to breathe deeply is to take a brisk walk. So I will do this 3 times a week for the next 31 days. And I will do more than walk, I will pay attention to what I see.

Want to join me in person or in spirit?

THREE. OUTDOOR HOBBY. The true harbinger of spring is not crocuses or swallows returning to Capistrano, but the sound of the bat on the ball. ~ Bill Veeck

Many of my friends have children who are in Spring sports: baseball, softball, tennis, and rugby are a few. I rarely go to these games.  I don’t participate in any which is probably a good thing since I am on the clumsy-side.

Nor do I listen or go to the pro or semi-pro baseball games. It is on my bucket list, however, to attend a professional baseball game.

INTENTION. While I am not big on participating in the bat-and-ball type of games, I could do something, like ping pong, croquet, or racquetball. I could also go WATCH and ROOT for these friend athletes. I would like to do one of these once or twice in the next 31 days.

How about you? What Spring sport will you partake of  or who will you root for in the next 31 days?

FOUR. CELEBRATE. Spring is nature’s way of saying, “Let’s party!”  ~ Robin Williams

When was the last time you had a party? Usually the only time I party is to celebrate someone’s birthday.

However, Saturday after a l-o-n-g day of having a yard sale and car wash, Mike C said let’s go celebrate how well we did today. Of course everyone was thrilled with the idea of going to have a celebratory ice cream cone.

INTENTION. I wish I had thought of that. Well, I didn’t, but I can look for ways to celebrate in the coming 31 days. I want to have a “party” at least 2 times. They probably won’t be elaborate, but they will be deliberate.

Are you good at celebrating the little things as well as the big things? What are your Spring party plans?

FIVE. HOPE.  The day the Lord created hope was probably the same day He created Spring.  ~Bern Williams

SIX. CLEAN. Let’s do some spring cleaning on some of that negativity that seems to be hanging around you and slowing down your progress. Take some quiet time and think deeply of the negativity that exists in your life at the moment. Think of those things whether they’re thoughts, situations or actions that exist in your life that serve no positive purpose. J. Charest

 

Entry filed under: goals, Main. Tags: .

Biblical Hope: Hope Series 2/4 New Testament Hope According to Paul: Hope Series 3/4

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 640 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


