What I Miss Most About My Babies and What This Has To Do With The Church Nursery

. at . 1 comment

Please join our fabulous staff in caring for the little ones in our nursery. You can choose to help in either the 1st or 2nd service.

Please join our fabulous staff in caring for the kiddos in our nursery. You can  help at either the 1st or 2nd service.

The number of children in our Cordova Neighborhood Church Sunday nursery is GROWING. We minister to kiddos from 6 weeks – 2 1/2 years old. These delightful infants and exploring tots need more adults in the room. So I am asking for help from our congregation.

If you are over 18 and can devote one (or more) Sundays a month to helping in this ministry, please contact Pastor Susan. You will be given an application and a background check.

To whet your appetite for working with nursery-aged kiddos, here is my TOP NINE LIST of What I Miss Most from When My Kiddos Were 2 1/2-Years-Old and Younger.

ONE. BELLY LAUGHS & GIGGLES. I feel better after hearing a baby laugh or giggle. These sounds are so contagious and sometimes so unexpected. Who knows why tearing paper cracks up this baby especially since the paper is a job rejection letter. These quadruplets belly laugh at their dad’s silly noises.   I’m laughing too, but not at the dad, but at the babies’ reactions.

TWO. I’M BIGGER. At first babies don’t need correction. But give them a year and the battle starts. But at this age, I can enforce the course of our day. It is tiring and relentless, but since I am bigger, I win (more easily).

THREE. SNUGGLES. Not all little ones are overly affectionate or given to snuggle time. But watch carefully and you can get a snuggle or two a day. And oh, that fills me with love and protective instincts for the young one.

FOUR. NO JUDGMENT. Babies don’t know when I do “it” wrong” no matter what the “it” is. They don’t care about the state of my house . . . . my looks . . . my lack of poise or education . . . or my place in society. They just love me. And even after making a mistake, they still love and accept me.

FIVE. TRUST. The under 2 1/2-years-old crowd trust the adults around them. They trust that I’ll be the best version of me. They trust I know what I am doing – even my first born had that trust. That trust in me made me a better person and parent. I strove to live up to that trust.

SIX. WONDER. Babies seem to be amazed at their perfection and the perfection of those around them. Do you remember watching a baby stare at his/her hand in fascination? It thrills me to have a baby stare into my eyes. It seem like s/he is trying to figure out who this marvelous creation is?

SEVEN. NOT CAMERA SHY. I enjoy taking photos of my family. They don’t always enjoy it back though. However, this age group is “clueless” about running from photographers and will “perform” away.

EIGHT. LEARNER. Infants and toddlers are learning machines. And most of the time they enjoy that process. I enjoy that they enjoy it. And I enjoy being part of the process. Just last week one the nursery girls and I spent 15 minutes playing with a pop up toy exploring, pushing, pulling, and talking about the experience.

NINE. SLEEPING POSTURE. It is so c-u-t-e the way our little ones sleep with their behinds up in the air. It is innocent, unself-conscious, and funny. Do you miss that pose too?

Hey grandparents, aunties, and uncles with older children in your lives, doesn’t reading this Top 9 List bring back happy memories?  Want to re-experience these again? Then contact me today! Leave a comment, I’ll call you.

Your Turn . . .

  1. What would you add to this list so I can make it a Top 10 List? 
  2. Will you sign up today to help in the nursery?

Still need another reason to volunteer? Think that working in the nursery is not ministry? Then go read 10 Reasons Why Involvement in Your Church Nursery is ImportantYou’ll see how being a nursery worker is totally important. And COOL.

Entry filed under: Children's Ministry, Main, Ministry Opportunites. Tags: , .

New Testament Hope According to Paul: Hope Series 3/4 Friday’s Fave Five

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


