Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 10 comments

FFF daisiesI am leaving for retreat in a few hours, so I will make this post short. If you want to read other lists and/or join us, go to Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story.

1. Retreat help. On Wednesday’s post, Choosing Gratitude book review, I listed some folks that I am thankful for relating to Retreat. Well, I have 2 more names: Roberta – made the graphic for the name tags and notebook stickers. Trudy – put together the notebooks, assembled the name tags, proofread, helped keep me on track, and about a billion other things. THANKS, ladies.

2. Day off. I love a day that is truly a day off: relaxing, sleeping in, reading, wearing jammies most of the day, doing things at my pace.

3. Graduation. This week is graduation-dense. Yesterday I had the privilege of attending Emily’s graduation. Since she was president of the student council, she got to speak. I loved watching her graduate from 5th grade. I was also able to watch 2 other student-friends get their diplomas (Sophia and Gavin). Congrats, guys!

4. Meditating. Our Retreat theme is John 3:16. I speak on “He gave His one and only Son.” I have been thinking and thinking and thinking on that phrase. I am so ENCOURAGED by this mediation time. I’ve never contemplated or studied John 3:16 before. I always thought it was more about the response of folks to Jesus. Now I see it is about LOVE. It is about love God the Father has and Jesus the Son of God has for everyone in the world!

5. Quote. Here’s one of my favourite response quotes about this love of God’s: “The greatest honor we can give almighty God is to live gladly because of the knowledge of His love,” Julian of Norwich.

Your Turn . . . Leave a comment about your fave event, person, item. I double-dog dare you!

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Choosing Gratitude And Why It Matters Five Steps to Building an Intimate Relationship with God: Part 2/2

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  . at .

    I’m not in your fav five? I dropped by specifically to read about me. Mom you dropped the ball with today being my bday. I’m just teasing.
    😉

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hey, baby girl, you will be in NEXT week’s top 5. This is a listing from Friday-Thursday. But now that you mention it, here’s another HAPPY BIRTHDAY greeting.

      Like

  • 3. Laura Lee Groves  |  . at .

    Enjoy your retreat!! Sounds great. And I just love that quote. It’s a great one. Have a great week ahead.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Laura Lee Groves  |  . at .

    Wow…that was a lot of “greats”…

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ellen b  |  . at .

    Happy Birthday Elizabeth!! 🙂
    By now you are enjoying your retreat Susan. Hope it goes well. Congrats to the grads!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Faith  |  . at .

    Yay for a day off and for helpful friends…AND for awesome retreats…have a great time!! Love the quote, too and congrats to your daughter for her graduation!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. willowknits  |  . at .

    I’m sure you are enjoying your retreat! May you be blessed as you continue to meditate on John 3:16. Also love the quote.
    And Happy Birthday to Elizabeth!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Brenda  |  . at .

    Ahhh, a day off that is REALLY off, a rarity, but glad you got to enjoy one!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    John 3:16 was a focus in song this past Sunday, as well. Beautiful words indeed. Glad you got to participate in the celebrations this week!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Susanne  |  . at .

    Hope your retreat went well. I haven’t been on one of those is forever! Love the quote you shared.

    Now that is truly a wonderful day off! So many times my days off are filled up with all the running around I couldn’t do when working.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


