5 Quotes I Adore from The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo (FFF)

. at . 8 comments

I love the idea of a quest and using the word quest instead of to-do item, calling, goal, or adventure.

I love the idea of a quest and using the word quest instead of to-do item, calling, goal, or adventure.

I like reading books written for children and adolescents. I like looking for the “lesson” each one has. The latest book I finished is The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo.

My favourite character was the mouse who stayed true to his calling. He did the hard things even when he thought he couldn’t succeed.

When I read I like to collect quotes. I like to ponder them and see how they apply to my life. For this Friday’s Fave Five, I found five favorite quotations.

ONE. ” . . . an interesting fate (sometimes involving rats, sometimes not) awaits almost everyone , mouse, or man, who does not conform,” (25). The non-conformists are also the ones who are world changers.

TWO. “Say the word “quest” out loud. It is an exextraordinary word, isn’t it? So small and yet so full of wonder, so full of hope.” (221) Reading this quote makes me want to go on a quest. You, too?

THREE.. “… nothing is sweeter in this sad world than the sound of someone you love calling your name. Nothing.” (258) Especially if that name is mom, auntie or whatever my non-speaking grand-daughter (she’s not even 3 months old yet) will call me.

FOUR..And hope is like love . . . a ridiculous, wonderful, powerful thing.” (134) Hope and quests are like the 2 parts of velcro. You need both sides to make it work.

FFF daisiesFIVE.Might just as well be happy, seeing as it doesn’t make a difference to anyone but you if you are or not,” said the soldier,” (143). Such wise words. We might as well as take charge of our attitudes, feelings, and actions. No-one else has that power or care.

I see that Amazon Instant Movies has this title to rent. Hurray! I am going to watch that this week. I will let you know how it is.

Your Turn . . .  

  • What are some of your favorite quotes from this book?
  • Any thoughts on the quotes here?
  • Have you seen the movie? Comments?
  • Have you ever been on a quest? I haven’t. But I will be when I go to India later this summer.

Related Posts

______________________________________________________

This is one of the books I read for my Yearlong Birthday Plan.

Entry filed under: 55th Birthday Yearlong Plan, Books, Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , , , , .

1st Quarter Review of 55th Birthday Yearlong Plan U: UPSIDE DOWN German Chocolate Cake

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. C (Paula)  |  . at .

    My kids have read the book and watched the movie. I have a quote notebook, but I haven’t written down very many movie quotes. I like quote #5. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ellen b  |  . at .

    I haven’t read the book or seen the movie but I like the quotes! 🙂
    I’m with Paula…I like #5
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jerralea  |  . at .

    I love quotes, too, and I collect them and often share them on FFF (but none today!).

    I love where you posted this: “Hope and quests are like the 2 parts of velcro. You need both sides to make it work.”

    I think I am in need of a quest!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. blessedmama3  |  . at .

    Believe it or not, I have not read this book yet. It is now on my to-do, oops, I mean my quest list!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Kathie  |  . at .

    I love that book too – I read children’s books all the time. Of course I am a retired children’s teacher-librarian. Loving children’s lit is the reason I went for that job!

    I like #3 and # 5. I can hardly wait til my grand-daughter can say Nannie 🙂

    Happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Brenda  |  . at .

    Awe, number 3 is precious. . and so very true! One of my favorite young adult reads of late is “The Elegance of the Hedgehog”, I think its translated from French. Lots of good quotes in that book too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    Loved everyone of those but especially the last one. Need to remember that one!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    A sweet collection of favorite quotes, Susan. A fun way to remember beloved books.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
10 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


