Friday’s Fave Five – Week 1, 2014

. at . 11 comments

FFF birds on a wire2014 is here just 3 days new. 2013 is gone just 4 days. So this first FFF posting of 2014 will be a blend of both.

One. Bridal Shower. The last Saturday of December my daughter and I attended a Bridal shower for her landlord and our friend, Jennifer. The best part of the celebration was hearing the stories about Jennifer. . .  the silly ones, the serious ones, and the ones where we had a connection with her. These stories evidenced that she made an impact on people and situations. I felt closer to her by the end of the party.

Wouldn’t that be a good thing to do throughout the year?  Share the stories of connection I’ve made with my friends. I want to tell stories that remind them of how special they are and that they HAVE made a difference in their world.  I want all my friends, including Jennifer, to know how grateful I am for them and their impact on my life.

Two. Prayer. The last Monday in 2013 I spent time doing what I normally do on Mondays, praying with my long-time prayer- partner, Ruth. We have spent hours and hours praying for our family and friends, the Church, and worldwide concerns. We have seen some HUGE answers and others answers that were subdued. And of course, we are still waiting on some answers even after 11 years.

Mondays in 2014 I will continue to pray with my dear friend and prayer-warrior. I am grateful that we are part of an effective spiritual strategy. I am grateful for Ruth’s wise-counsel and example. I am grateful  to be able to spend time with my friend.

Three. Lunch Date. A spur of the moment invitation found me having lunch and coffee with a friend, Lynette. The Gingerbread Latte is lovely. The conversation was even lovelier.

I don’t take enough time for friends especially on the spur of the moment. I want to do more of this because I would have really missed out on what Lynette shared. I am grateful that Lynette has seen and felt the work of God in her life in 2013.  The struggles I knew. I didn’t yet know the triumphs over those struggles. Hurray! Like me, are you encouraged when you hear about the triumphs?

Four. Gratitude Journal. I find that I am more successful in achieving things if there is a group and/or competition involved. This one isn’t a competition. I have been invited to join two others who are writing down a daily “gratitude” item. I am writing it down on my Google calendar. That way I won’t lose it and it will always be easy to access and remember.

I am grateful that these two, Michelle and LaRee, don’t mind me being part of their group. They are besties and still have room for others in their lives and hearts.

Five. Granddaughter. My granddaughter was 11 months old yesterday. She is crawling, grabbing and tasting, exerting her will, and smiling A LOT. And sometimes I even get to hear her gibberish. Being a grandmother has been ONE of the highlights of 2013.

I am grateful that her mama, Daniella, invites me to a bi-lingual Library time that she and the baby attend. I’ve only gone twice so far (it is 90 minutes away from where I live), but I hope to go many times in 2014. Not only do I get to visit and play with two favourite “women,” I also get to practice and learn Spanish. I am currently learning La Araña Pequeñita.

BONUS: I just read this and it is worthy of contemplation: Don’t Be Pretty – Be Beautiful in 2014.  I am grateful for such wisdom that I can share.

Happy New Year. If you’d like to be part of a “Gratitude Group,” then consider joining us. For this week, go to this link. Susanne is the host of Friday’s Fave Five. You can find Susanne at Living to Tell the Story.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

What Activity Are You Still Working Up The Courage To Try? Quotes from “The King in the Window” by Adam Gopnik

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    Hi I really enjoyed reading your list of faves. How awesome that you have a prayer partner. I do too but we don’t pray together as consistently as you do…..maybe I will suggest a once a month prayer mtg! I think you left a comment on my blog under anonymous. Could you come back and at least sign in with your initials? I tend to delete anonymous comments due to past problems, thanks!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Ok. I reposted with my name, Faith. I must have clicked “Anonymous” instead of “Publish
      Your Comment.”

      Like

  • 3. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    What a sweet week! How wonderful to have such times with friends and prayer partners.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      It has been a sweet week, Barbara. And thanks to FFF, I can remember or at least refer to it more easily.

      Like

  • 5. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Susan! Nice to see you again amongst the five favers. It’s terrific that you have a prayer-partner for regular extended praying. God is faithful to answer, isn’t He? With your new gratitude journal and resolution to share encouraging stories, your year is already off to a fantastic start. That granddaughter of yours sounds like a charmer 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Paula  |  . at .

    I really like the idea of having a set time for partnering in prayer with a friend. I’m like you in that I find accountability helpful. Hope you have a blessed 2014.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    Lots to be thankful for! I totally love that you have had a weekly prayer partner that you have prayed with for so long. What perseverance! I always find it exciting to hear how God has seen my friends through their struggles of the year.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. miaslovetree  |  . at .

    First time visiting from Susanne’s Fave Five- what a blessing to be able to pray with a dear friend weekly! I’ve seen a few people recommend that article on being beautiful instead of pretty- I look forward to reading it later this weekend. :o)

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. willowknits  |  . at .

    The gratitude journal sounds like a good idea…I may use it. Our sermon this morning was on prayer, love and service. I was especially struck with the encouragement to pray and use a prayer journal. Maybe I’ll combine the two.
    Love having those spontaneous times to share, especially over coffee.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. blessedmama3  |  . at .

    What a beautiful list, Susan!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Gattina  |  . at .

    My little 3 year old grandson speaks Dutch and French. Dutch with Mum and French with Dad. With us he speaks French sometimes mixed with Dutch, that’s too funny ! Fortunately I know Dutch thanks to my German !

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 641 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


