Friday’s Fave Five – Week 6, 2014

. at . 7 comments

FFF birds on a wireFriday’s Fave Five is a time to reflect on the past week. I looked for blessings that brought me a smile and lifted my spirits. This practice makes me a little more grateful.

To join Susanne and the gang at Living to Tell The Story, go here.

One. New Shoes. Not just one pair, but two. I don’t like shopping and so only go when desperate. My left pinky was poking through the shoe, so I think that qualifies as desperate.

I spent my weekend with my East Bay family and somehow I left my new shoes at home. I don’t know why I didn’t wear my new ones out of the store and leave the old ones in their trash bin.

So I had to go out again and buy another pair. Both were a great price. And now I am set for the year, maybe longer.

,>MZX,.m

Family portrait with Daniella, Tim, &  Sofia.

 

z,MNx,mnx

I am so in love with this child!!!

,.m.,m

See the bear Tim is holding? He got that from his paternal grandma when he was an infant 31 years ago. I gave it to Sofia last weekend. Her response? She bit and chewed on his nose.

 Two.  Birthday. We celebrated my grand daughter’s 1st birthday last weekend. It was fun for my daughter and I to help my dil with food prep and decorating.

Sofia did a great job with all the attention. And she was an equal-opportunity ignorer of the gifts (except for a Weebles person that she carried around).

Her favourite activity was climbing on 2 stacked guitar cases to get to the red chaise lounge. But that’s what  little kids do, so no one minded.

For tips on making a no-sew fleece blanket, go here.

MX.,zmX><m

This is the 1st no-sew blanket I’ve made. It was one of the pressies I gave to Sofia.

Three. Tea Magnets. Every year we have an annual women’s missionary tea. And every year we give away magnets as a favour. Usually the Women’s Ministry Team makes them, but not this year. 7 ladies crocheted and put them together. I will post photos next week.

Four. Rain. Yes, we’ve gotten a little more rain this week, still not enough. Although I don’t prefer it, I am grateful that we will get more rain this weekend. I hope it doesn’t impact the attendance at our tea Saturday afternoon.

Five. Gratitude Answer. In this week’s Wednesday night small group we had the following question, “How should our belief that Jesus tasted death for us affect the way we live? 

My 1st thought was that I should and want to live in gratitude (to Him and for the results of His death) on a consistent basis.

I am sure that my ongoing Friday practice of finding blessings is seeping into my unconscious  thoughts and actions.

Your Turn . . . Share one of your gratitudes.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

My 11 Tips & Observations to Make a No-Sew Fleece Blanket 3 Ways to Encourage Others Year Round

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gattina  |  . at .

    How sweet ! My grandson is meanwhile 3 years old and starts to show his character, lol !

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Faith  |  . at .

    Your granddaughter is beautiful!! And a handmade blanket by grandma is the perfect gift!! I hope you CA folks get the rain you all need….we’ve been reading about your drought! Enjoy the weekend and have fun at your tea!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. ellen b  |  . at .

    1st birthdays are so special. What a little sweetie. New shoes…you crack me up about being set for the year. I’m not real fond of shoe shopping…
    Glad you got some rain. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    How neat to still have your son’s bear, and that he’s still in good condition. Your granddaughter is a cutie.

    I don’t like to go shopping for shoes. What a blessing to find a couple of pairs at good prices!

    The tea magnets sound like a fun idea.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. jerralea  |  . at .

    Oh, Sofi is a cutie! I love her little outfit.

    We have some of those fleece blankets. They’ve really been helpful during this cold winter.

    I’m glad you found two pair of shoes you liked. Maybe it was meant to be!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful week of celebration — birthdays and rain and shoes too 🙂 And such sweet family portraits.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Susanne  |  . at .

    Happy birthday to your sweet granddaughter. What a cutie!

    Unfortunately I love shoe shopping way too much.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


