Friday’s Fave Five – Week 9, 2014

. at . 5 comments

FFF birds on a wireWe can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures. ~ Thornton Wilder

This week my heart is conscious and thankful for these 5 treasures also known as Friday’s Fave Five. If you’d like to share your list, link up at Living to Tell the Story.

ONE. All Kiddos were in Church on Sunday morning. This counts as a treasure because I see that someday THEY will run the church. And it thrills me when the WHOLE congregation worships together!!! Pastor Mike talked about obeying our parents. Besides giving some great illustrations and teaching on obedience, Pastor Mike answered some of their questions. One question he answered in both services was, “Why is my mom a weirdo?”

TWO. Celebrated a friend’s birthday. Pam (the birthday girl) and I ate dinner at a taqueria before going to the movies. We saw Philomena. I didn’t think it would be very good. Boy was I surprised. Judi Dench and Steve Coogan did a great acting job. However, like I thought I would be, I was dismayed about the subject matter. Pam is a true treasure of a friend and I am glad we got to spend special time together.

THREE. Knowing the Holy Spirit’s roles help me in my prayer life. Last week our small group read and discussed some of the roles of the Holy Spirit. As I read this, it dawned on me that I can use these”jobs” as prayer points for unsaved family, friends, coworkers, and neighbors. These treasure tidbits have brought encouragement into my heart. I know that God wants to answer these types of prayers.

The Holy Spirit does the following (and more that I won’t list). I can pray that He does the following in the lives I pray for.

  • The Holy Spirit convicts us of sin.
  • The Holy Spirit calls us to respond.
  • The Holy Spirit makes the Bible understandable and helps us accept it as Truth.
  • The Holy Spirit helps us to respond affirmatively to the good news of salvation.

FOUR. Sister’s birthday: related post: 5 Reasons I Love My Sister. Her birthday was Wednesday, but we will have the waffle ice cream breakfast and then dinner on Saturday. But I wanted to list her THIS week as one of my treasures.

FIVE. I read 2 more books on prayer. I am going to write 26 (short) posts on prayer during April’s Blogging to A-Z Challenge. This link is from 2013. I am in research mode. I am learning some things I didn’t know before. These treasures are helping move my prayer life to a more satisfactory phase.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Four Ways to Help a Woman Who is Grieving Dozen Ways to be More Effective in Children’s Ministry

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    Oh I will try to remember to come back and check out your April posts. In fact, I should get your blog,up on my site so I can see when you have posted!!! Great faves this week. I don’t go to the movies much but I have always liked Judi Dench. And yay for birthday celebrations, and humerous pastors!!! Enjoy your weekend

    Reply
  • 2. PAMELA  |  . at .

    Thank you for the celebration! Philomena is definitely an actor’s movie. I would love to do the role, even though it is a difficult subject. Herein lies the responsibility of the storyteller in all mediums and the burden the tellers carry. It was important and of great value that this story was told, and seeing it acted out has a tremendous impact on the audience. We can only hope that positive changes will be made. And to have a part in effectuating that change…wow! I do love to act. Almost as much as I love spending time with you :-)

    Reply
  • 3. Ellen  |  . at .

    Thank the Lord for giving us His Spirit so that we can be helped by Him. Sounds like a fun week filled with celebrations. Have a great weekend.

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    It is nice to have the whole church worship together instead of splitting off into groups.

    Glad you had a good time with your friend’s and sister’s birthday this week!

    That is a great thought to pray along the lines of what the Holy Spirit does, asking that He do those things in the hearts of our loved ones.

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    I’ve heard lots of good stuff about that movie. But it ended this week here in the theatre so I’ll have to wait for it on demand on the tv. Brave pastor taking on the kids questions. They can come up with some doozies. LOL. A good relationship with a sister is truly a treasure. Have a fun birthday celebration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 563 other followers

57 Thing To Do During my 57th Year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2016
11 months to go.

57 Things I’ve Done by March 2016

1. Bought Personalized 2015 Photo Calendar
2. Bought Personalized Stamps
3. Wrote 2 Blackout Poems
4. Movie Marathon: The Good Witch Films (7 of them)
5. Family Special Time (Lennon, Kadie)

57 Books I’ve Read by March 2016

1. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo.
2. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand
3. Inspiration Sandwich by SARK.
4. A Man of Grit and Grace: Paul by Charles Swindoll
5. Prayer: Life's Limitless Reach by Jack R Taylor
6. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
7. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Book of Braille Sculptures

By Elizabeth Symington

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 563 other followers

