Friday’s Fave Five – Week 12, 2014

. at . 6 comments

FFF birds on a wireIt’s Friday, so time to share five favourite blessings from the week. If you want to do the same and link up, go to Susanne’s at Living to Tell the Story.

ONE. My work helped me get healthcare (although they weren’t legally obligated). They did so because they care about me. I am grateful to be part of such a community.

TWO. The past couple of weeks have been full of health tests. It is a blessing to figure out why I have been sooooo tired.

THREE. The tests have revealed (among other things) LOW Vitamin D and HIGH blood sugar (as in diabetes). The low Vitamin D is an easy fix – supplementation.

The high blood sugar is not so easy to fix. I obviously need to overhaul my diet and sedentary lifestyle. I have wanted to do this for a while, but lacked motivation. Now I am MOTIVATED because I do not want to have to go on insulin ( a very real possibility in my case). Nor do I want the compromised health that comes from ignoring diabetes.

FOUR. I have a Blood Glucose Buddy. Every morning I text my BG reading to my buddy and she does the same to me. It is helpful to know that I am not alone in this new way of living.

FIVE. I am still processing this news, but this morning I read from Proverbs 21:31 –  “Do your best, prepare for the worst—then trust God to bring victory.” I will do my “best” which right now takes up a lot of TIME.  I know “soon” I will have my life back and I won’t be devoting so much time, energy, money, and thoughts to my health. And I KNOW that God is with me in this and will bring “victory” in whatever manner that looks like.

Your Turn . . . Share in the comments what makes your FAVOURITES list this week?

NOTE to FFF participants – Dealing with the above is why I have been neglectful of visiting y’all on Fridays. I am sure that soon I will get back into my groove especially since I miss the “interaction.”

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five – Week 11, 2014 CNC Sewing Project, This Wednesday, 6-8:30pm, August 6

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    Well I am so glad you discovered this health issue before,it got worse!! I will lift you up in prayer tonight that The Lord would direct your steps in this. That verse from proverbs is a good one!! I take vitamin d and calcium as when I had my bone scan it showed the beginnings of osteopenia!! I’m currently nursing a stressed Achilles’ tendon from jump roping yesterday…..ugh!!! Here’s to better health for both of us.

  • 2. Deb  |  . at .

    Hello – I am also a Friday Fave Five link-up. Will look forward to more of your posts. Good for your for making the commitment to get more exercise! You inspire me. Hope you can get your health issues under control Have a good weekend.

  • 3. Kathie  |  . at .

    I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well. Good to finally get to the bottom of it. Have you read The Daniel Plan? (Saddleback church) I just finished a 6 week study with a group of ladies and it’s all about healthy living with a strong emphasis on healthy food (low glucose) and exercise. Very Christ centered. I really enjoyed it – the book even more than the video series. It’s more detailed but both are good.

    Spring is a good time to start getting in shape – better weather makes us feel a little more inspired to get out and walk. I hope you’re able to soon.

    Feel better soon!

  • 4. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    You must be relieved to know what the issues are and maybe a bit excited about learning a new lifestyle to head off diabetes. Hope it goes well for you and that God gives you wisdom in all things.

  • 5. Willow  |  . at .

    I”m sorry you are having the health problems but what a blessing that you are able to have health insurance!

    I hope you find information about lowering the glucose levels. Diet was my first step in healthy living and it has helped so much!

  • 6. Susanne  |  . at .

    How wonderful to have a work place that cares for it’s employees health like that. And glad to hear that you were able to get to why you’re tired. At least now you can take some steps towards trying to remedy it.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

57 Thing To Do During my 57th Year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2016
3 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

