31 Days of Finishing – Day 1: Make a Public Commitment

. at . 2 comments

Day 1 - This is car week!

Day 1  is done! This is car week!

This week I will work on car related items. So today, Day 1, I  filled the fluid receptacle, cleaned out the trunk  and put the emergency bag (tools, fluids, first aid kit and glucose tablets) into the trunk. It was in the garage.

Last night I thought that this was a great idea. 31 minutes is no big deal especially if it means I will get things OFF my list. That will feel so great – mentally.

But I came home from work tonight and 31 minutes seemed like a BIG DEAL.

So I reasoned with myself. I had already written and POSTED my Introduction. I made a public declaration of my intent to do this series and I couldn’t back out before I even started. So I set the timer on my phone and before I knew it I had the tasks taken care. And I even cleaned OUT the trunk.

31 minutes wasn’t so bad after all. Day 1 – CHECK!

Moral of this story? Making a public commitment helped me to overcome my resistance and do the time.

During this month of October I am joining LOTS of bloggers hosted by The Nester who will be writing every day about a topic. My topic is about finishing. I will spend 31 minutes each day on a to-do item (from the secondary list).

I will write about it and share any productivity tips I find helpful to FINISHING things.

Go here for Day Two: Buying Hubcaps Without Driving Yourself Crazy. . . . Go here for the landing page with all the posts (which go live as they are written). The list is towards the bottom of the page.

 Your Turn . . .  How did you do on your 31 minutes today?  . . . How do you get yourself to follow through on something you don’t want to do?

Related Posts . . .

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , , .

31 Days of Finishing 2014: Table of Contents & What it is About 31 Days of Finishing – Day 2: Buying Hubcaps Without Driving Yourself Crazy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Momma  |  . at .

    Way to go! I know what you mean about quitting before you get started. I could do with focusing on trying to finish things for a month. I have so many quilting and knitting UFOs that I could probably do an entire month of those and not get them finished! This is an excellent idea for a series. I am definitely going to be following you as you go through the month. Good luck with the car stuff this week. Your mention of an emergency kit reminds me that I need to do that for our car. It’s something I’ve had in my head for a while and is especially important now with winter approaching. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. The Momma  |  . at .

    Thank you for reading at my blog and your kind comment. (((hugs back to you)))

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


