31 Days of Finishing – Day 2: Buying Hubcaps Without Driving Yourself Crazy

. at . 3 comments

kzlXlkjzXlkZJX

Day 2 – Find 3 friends that match this hubcap or get 4 new ones?

“Oh, hello; where have you gone?” I said two October’s ago when looking at my car.

A hubcap was missing. Oh, bother! Well at least it was only one. But within the month two more went missing. I don’t know if they fell off from old age or someone nicked them. All I know is that I didn’t hit a curb and crunch them off.

Obviously “Get 3 hubcaps” has been on my To-Do list. And just as obviously since three of my tires are still woefully bald, I haven’t done anything about it – until tonight’s 31 minutes.

But before I tell you the outcome, let me tell you the how come I’ve procrastinated on this task. The short answer is I drove myself c-r-a-z-y with my “what ifs” and tinge of fear.

  • What if I get asked a question I can’t answer or don’t understand?
  • What if this task tasks up too much time?
  • What if they are too expensive and yet I’ve put in all this time to figure out what I need, should I buy them anyway to justify the time spent?
  • What if I make a mistake and buy something poorly made? The wrong size? Or I get ripped off?

These are just SOME of the questions that ping around my mind when I let myself  get started on the fear track.

But for tonight’s 31 minutes, I didn’t fret first. I investigated first. I opened up Amazon and typed in “Hubcaps Mazda Protege.” A full-page of desirable items came up.

SURPRISE #1  – the price was cheaper than I thought. They ranged from $20-$30 for FOUR, not for each one. I know how to read the customers’ reviews to select something suitable. So far so good.

SURPRISE # 2 –  (and not obstacle #1 – it really is about keeping a positive attitude at this point) – They come in 14″, 15″ or 16″ sizes. Undeterred I grabbed my yellow, cloth, sewing measuring tape and my camera. I took a photo of the lone hubcab to compare to the photos on Amazon. Then I measured the diameter of the hubcap = 15″.

A friend came by and said I should read the number on the tire; it said 14.

Question – do I get the 14″ or 15″? (I asked myself with a hint of frustration and fear).

I texted another friend and she said to go with the rim size. Is that the number on the tire? Oh, I have a headache and my 31 minutes is just about up.

With a minute left to decide, I decided to ask at the tire store tomorrow. I need to have my tires rotated sometime this month and might as well do it tomorrow. And while there I can ask about hubcap sizes and then buy them on Amazon.

Of course, I now have to put “Get Tires Rotated” on the to-do list. I had actually forgotten about doing that until tonight. I wonder how many other things I will discover that I have forgotten?

Oh, one reason it took nearly 31 minutes to do this one thing is because I got distracted.  I also looked at seat covers (Day 5’s to-do).

Moral of the story? When starting a project that brings up LOTS of questions and even some fear, (1) Don’t fret. (2) Investigate. (3) Ask a friend or two for advice and/or help. (4) Ask a professional once you kinda know what you are talking about. (5) Having the proper tools to get info is a must as well. In this case it was my laptop, camera, phone (for texting), and a measuring tape.

This story is … To Be Continued …

During this month of October I am joining LOTS of bloggers hosted by The Nester who will be writing every day about a topic. My topic is about finishing. I will spend 31 minutes each day on a to-do item (from the secondary list).

I will write about it and share any productivity tips I find helpful to FINISHING things.

Go here for Day Three: Batch Tasks To Get More Done on Your To-Do List . . . . Go here for the Landing Page with all the posts (which go live as they are written). The list is towards the bottom of the page.

Your Turn . . .

  • What did you do with your 31 minutes today?
  • Are there things stuck on your to-do list because dealing with them will bring out the monsters of “What if?” and “Fear”?
  • What car to-do are you currently dealing with?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , , .

31 Days of Finishing – Day 1: Make a Public Commitment 31 Days of Finishing – Day 3: Batch Tasks To Get More Done on Your To-Do List

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Samantha McGowan  |  . at .

    Such a great topic, Susan!! And this post, particularly, was hilarious! Congrats for committing to such a hard goal for an entire month. Would you want to clean my room for one of them? 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. hopecarrart  |  . at .

    Oh my gosh! Talking about things like tires and insurance is worse than trying to communicate in Japanese! I LOVE that you are blogging about the things you have to finish. I might get something done once in a while if I were expected to write about it. I have enjoyed reading your list of things you have done and smiled at so many! We also read some of the same authors! Anne Lamott is one of my favorites.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer Lambert  |  . at .

    Interesting topic! I dread the having to change the tires to winter ones next month. I’ve never lived anywhere that I have to do that!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


