31 Days of Finishing – Day 8: Making a Movie of Completing Your To-Do Makes it Photo-Journalism

. at . 4 comments

Day 8 - Completing today's to-do from inside my trunk. No, I am not asleep. Just a bad photo of me.

Day 8 – Completing today’s to-do from inside my trunk. No, I am not asleep, just an awkward photo of me.

What kinds of things do you video on your phone? Have you ever recorded yourself completing a to-do? I did. Today’s to-do was recorded by me mostly inside my trunk.

Yep, my trunk.

While reading my owner’s manual yesterday, I read about an emergency release valve that opens the trunk from inside. Apparently it is illuminated so that you can see it whilst in the DARK bowels. I know from personal experience how DARK and confining and oxygen-less it is in there.

Here is my video which answers the question, “Is there or isn’t there a way out of Susan’s trunk should she ever get stuck in there?”

After I figure out how to blur out my license plate from my daughter’s video, I will post it here. She shares her perspective on my to-do.

My question is, how many folks get caught in their trunk that there is even mention of such an emergency release valve?

While in the trunk I also completed another to-do – Check Out My Spare Tire. CHECK. It is there, in good condition and so is the jack and tire iron.

Moral of the story? Read your vehicle’s owner’s manual to get all the information about your car that you can. It might save your life some day.

Also use your camera phone to record you finishing to-do’s. It takes the experience from drab and tedious to “on-the-spot photo journalism.”

And it provides laughs, lots of them. My son (who laughed a LOT while watching the videos) asked my daughter – “Just HOW did you get mom into the trunk?” Daughter – “I let her believe it was her idea.”

BTW – No animals, humans, or cars were hurt in the filming of today’s to-do (only my pride).

During this month of October I am joining LOTS of bloggers hosted by The Nester who will be writing every day about a topic. My topic is about finishing. I will spend 31 minutes each day on a to-do item (from the secondary list).

I will write about it and share any productivity tips I find helpful to FINISHING things.

Go here for the Landing Page with all the posts (which go live as they are written). The list is towards the bottom of the page. . . .  Go to the following highlighted link f0r Day 9: Saving Money is a Great Motivator to Finishing.

Your Turn . . .

  • Have you ever filmed yourself doing a to-do?
  • If not, give it a try today. . . . If yes, what is the craziest thing you’ve done?
  • Does your trunk have an emergency release valve?
  • How did you do with your 31 Minutes of Finishing today?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing. Tags: , .

31 Days of Finishing – Day 7: I Changed my Mind and So I Got it Done 31 Days of Finishing – Day 9: Saving Money is a Great Motivator to Finishing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sherri  |  . at .

    Wow – I think I will try the new ‘time-lapse’ feature on my iphone camera to see myself in action!! I’m so ADHD – trying to getting some thing completed w/o getting distracted is almost impossible! This should be fun!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ronnerock  |  . at .

    Now I can’t wait to see the video. Not sure if I’ll ever be bold enough to shut myself in a trunk to see things from your point of view though – you are one brave gal!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. chandra978  |  . at .

    This made me giggle “BTW – No animals, humans, or cars were hurt in the filming of today’s to-do (only my pride)” But really, I love that you did this. I make “to do” lists all the time, and they are never “done”. HA! I start something, and I’m easily distracted and start something else. Your post inspires me to get one thing done today on my list! Thanks for this! So glad I found your blog!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Parent Xpress (@HPXpress)  |  . at .

    Thanks. Every new car, I check the drivers manual because too many bad things are out here in the world. I also make the car dealership car sales man; so my all emergency features; so I can actually see just in case an emergency like this happens. Thanks for prompting us to look at our vehicle a little closer.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


