31 Days of Finishing – Day 22: Dejunk a Drawer

. at . Leave a comment

Day 22 - This is the after look of spending 62 minutes sorting. . . . Sorry, I didn't think to take a before picture. . . . I did't buy new organizing containers, just used what I had. And I think it looks great.

Day 22 – This is the after look of spending 62 minutes sorting. . . . Sorry, I didn’t think to take a before picture. . . . I didn’t buy new organizing containers, just used what I had. And I think it looks great.

Have you ever counted how many drawers you have in your home? I just did = 9. This is not including cupboards (23), shelves (4), closets (3), garage (single car), bookcases (3), or flat surface that collect ‘”stuff” (10).

No wonder I have issues. There are LOTS of places in my home where “stuff: can be stuffed. I have been decluttering for a while now, but I still have too much “stuff.”

So today’s 31 minute mission was to clean out one of the drawers (kitchen junk drawer). I watched Tiny (making of tiny houses) while I cleaned, sorted, and threw away.

Moral of the story? I have too much stuff! Sorting is a great way to reconfirm that. Who needs this many pens? Old receipts? Business cards? Batteries? Matchboxes? Sticky note pads?

It did take me longer than 31 minutes. In fact I spent two 31 minute sessions (that’s how long the free hulu movie was).

I picked the junk drawer to sort because it was a small, contained space and probably wouldn’t take me forever to clean out. It is true no-one will usually see what I did. But I know. It is like one of those geodes that has something precious and beautiful inside.

Just like a geode, this tidy drawer makes me smile. I keep opening the creaky drawer to have a look. I LIKE this minimalist look – at least in the drawers.

Doing this 31 minute project (x2) has spurred me on to cleaning more drawers. 

So my tips today are for you to . . .  

  • Pick a small, contained space to tidy.
  • Give it a 31 minute session or two.
  • Watch a movie while doing this.
  • Be ruthless in sorting.

I ended up with a bag full of trash (receipts, business and appointment reminder cards) and lots of pens and notepads to take to work. However, some of the pens I will turn into flower pens.

But what will I do with the matchboxes? I don’t remember why I bought them or where. I didn’t know they still made these. Or maybe they are THAT old.

I came across some ideas on Pinterest . . .

What would you make?

During this month of October I am joining LOTS of bloggers hosted by The Nester who will be writing every day about a topic. My topic is about finishing. I will spend 31 minutes each day on a to-do item (from the secondary list).

I will write about it and share any productivity tips I find helpful to FINISHING things.

Go here for the Landing Page with all the posts (which go live as they are written). The list is towards the bottom of the page.

Your Turn . . .

  • Are you great at keeping your “stuff” contained”? Or do you constantly have to battle it, like me?
  • When was the last time you looked into your junk drawer with the intent to clean it out? To de-junk it?
  • How will you use your 31 minutes of finishing today?

Related Post . . .

 

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , , .

31 Days of Finishing – Day 21: Do the Oldest Thing on the List 31 Days of Finishing – Day 23: Get Motivation From Your Roots

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


