31 Days of Finishing – Day 31: Do the Scary Thing

. at . 5 comments

Day 30 - Making certain phone calls is a scary thing for me. But when I do finish that call the relief is palbable and sometimes there is even a great result to making that call.

Day 31 – Making certain phone calls is a scary thing for me. But when I do finish that call the relief is palpable and sometimes there is even a great result to making that call. I always feel energized afterwards!

What “scary” things do you have on your secondary to-do list? I have several of them and they’ve been there for a l…o…n…g… time. Why? Because they are scary to even think about doing.

Sometimes I let fear make my decisions for me. And when that happens I don’t feel so good about myself. But today, I took charge of my fear. I told myself even if it is a bad outcome, I am going to tackle ‘THIS” to-do item today.

I made a phone call and then followed up with an email. HURRAY, me! I took action.

Moral of the story? The total time was less than 31 minutes. But the benefits to that call will be great. I feel proud of my action. This action reinforces the idea that I CAN do hard things. And I feel energized to tackle another hard thing today.

I did. I made two hard phone calls today! The 2nd one didn’t turn out so well. But I am proud I took care of it. The feeling of finished is much better (imho) than the feeling of dread.

And I am finished with this series. The feeling of finished is definitely awesome!

During this month of October I am joining LOTS of bloggers hosted by The Nester who will be writing every day about a topic. My topic is about finishing. I will spend 31 minutes each day on a to-do item (from the secondary list).

I will write about it and share any productivity tips I find helpful to FINISHING things.

Go here for the Landing Page with all the posts (which go live as they are written). The list is towards the bottom of the page.

Your Turn . . .

  • What scary things do you have on your list?
  • How do you feel when you don’t do the scary to-do’s? How do you feel when you do them?
  • Can you make traction on one of them today?
  • How’s your secondary to-do list coming along?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , .

31 Days of Finishing – Day 3O: Tackle Paper Piles Gratitude Letter Writing Project

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shelbylclarke  |  . at .

    Wow, talk about speaking truth. I always wait to do the scary things when no one is around because I don’t want others to see me fail. I guess I’ll be tackling some of those to do’s today…thanks for the inspiration

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. ronnerock  |  . at .

    Oh, that secondary list. Yes, mine is filled with things that should happen but get bumped by other things. Thank you for the reminder to grab that list and start checking – one thing at a time…

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Mary K. Hill  |  . at .

    I have to really think about this. I have a list but it is one big list not secondary. I want to write a book, I want to write more poetry. I want to grow closer to my daughter. I want to love my husband more. I focus on those things. I do have one scary thing I need prayer about. If you will put me on your prayer list. Thanks for sharing.🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Denise Powers Fabian  |  . at .

    Finishing…definitely something I need to contemplate. Visiting from #write31days.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Moi  |  . at .

    I have to do anything that I am dreading right away – I can’t wait because I won’t be waiting…I will be stressing. My scary thing is the unfinished to do list… i like your topic – glad I stumbled over here today!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


