Sending Thanks to my Godson – Gratitude Project

. at . Leave a comment

Letter 9 - Letting my godson know how special he is to me.

Letter 9 – Letting my godson know how special he is to me.

Do you have a pen pal? I do, my godson. He is now at an age where he writes, sends artwork, and sometimes he even sends me change. I do the same. Although his artwork is cuter.

Letter 9: Letter to my godson –  Today I sent a Thanksgiving card (yes, a little early) to this precious kiddo. In the letter I wrote 5 reasons I am happy and thankful for Thanksgiving. I wrote a similar list in 2012. Have you ever written such a list?  This year I included the following . . .

  1.  It is a day that reminds me to be grateful.
  2. There is food I usually only eat this time of year: turkey, fresh sweet potatoes mashed with butter, and pumpkin pie.
  3. It is an opportunity to spend time with the whole family.
  4. I love it when we celebrate at the ocean (seems to be a new trend).
  5. I love my job, but I also love a vacation day

 But the most special part of this letter I sent to my god child is another list I wrote: “Why I am happy and thankful for Lennon.” I listed seven things. They touched on physical attributes, actions, spiritual nature, intellectual aspects, and healthy habits. I put it on a squarish 4.5 inches by 4.5 inches (approximately) piece of goldenrod yellow paper. His mom is a memory keeper and I could see her putting this in the dear boy’s scrap-book.

Thinking about and writing this list made me smile. I hope it does the same for him. And I am hoping it helps him to continue maturing into a fun-loving, health-seeking, godly boy.

I am writing at least 36 letters expressing my gratitude. And I want to pray for them on that day as well. Go here for the original post and list of recipients. I am writing about it here in hopes that it spurs someone on to write their own gratitude letters.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. If you are a godparent, write a letter to “your” child.
  2. Write a daily gratitude during November with him/her.
  3. Write your own list of “5 reasons I am happy and thankful for Thanksgiving.”
  4. Write a list of “Why I am happy and thankful for ___________.”

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , .

Sending Thanks to a Church Attendee – Gratitude Project Sending Thanks to a Workmate – Gratitude Project

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
10 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


