5 Things I Did in 2014 and Wish I Didn’t

. at . Leave a comment

in three areas. Photo by Konrad Baranski.

I am disappointed with myself in five areas.                          Photo by Konrad Baranski.

Every January I like to recall the last year and assess how well I did and didn’t do. Below are five things in 2014 that fall into the “not well” category. I am also including my remedy for each fault.­­

In 2007 I reflected on the yer and wrote a similar post: 5 Things I Did in 2007 and Wish I Didn’t.

ONE. LET THE SCALE OVERTAKE MY LIFE. Finding out I had diabetes and other health ailments threw my thought-life into turmoil. My health was in serious trouble.

The doctor and diabetes nurse said I NEEDED to lose weight and keep it off. This would be one of the best ways to overcome the consequences of diabetes, etc. I did everything I could think of

Within 3  months my health dramatically improved. But I only lost 7 pounds. I tried for 3 more months. All numbers except for the scale were in the good to great range. But I was very, very, very discouraged.

I am sorry to say that I LET DISCOURAGEMENT beat me down and I gave up on being so diligent.

    • I let the high cost of strips prevent me from buying them and therefore I stopped testing as much.
    • I stopped walking every day. It didn’t help that I’ve misplaced my best motivational tool (my fitbit).
    • I stopped tracking my water intake.
    • I stopped writing down what I was eating.
    • I let myself have more “treats” than was good for me.

REMEDY FOR 2015. (1) I put my scale in the garage, I know that as long as I am doing what I need to do, eventually my weight will fall. (2) I am starting up again with being diligent. Some of those actions are the opposite if the above list. (3) I am becoming active again in B.U.F.F. This is a diabetes Facebook support group.

Related Posts . . . 

TWO. STAYED UP TOO LATE. I almost always get a burst of energy in the evenings. It is easy for me to stay up late doing projects, reading, internet researching and pinning, or watching shows on Hulu.

When I stay up too late I am not able to get all the rest I need on a consistent basis. This negatively impacts my health, motivation, and daily routines. It is harder to get things done and to maintain an energetic, positive mood.

REMEDY FOR 2015. (1) I am going to track this again. (2) I wrote a note on my bathroom mirror, “Go to bed by 10,” as a visual reminder.

Related Posts . . . 

THREE. STOPPED READING THROUGH THE BIBLE. I became a Believer 40 years ago. I achieved my goal of reading through the Bible almost every one of those years. However 2014 was not one of the years I did so.

I always do my Bible studying for whatever small group I am a part of. However, “just reading” through the Bible accomplishes something different from studying the Bible (for me). When reading I am alert for whatever pops up; I don’t have an agenda. Also this type of reading helps reinforce the flow of content of the whole book I am reading.

REMEDY FOR 2015. I had an 11 day Christmas vacation this year. My plans to go away didn’t happen, so I had a staycation. One of the things I did was to read the New Testament in chunks of time.

So far I’ve read Matthew – John. Today I will start in Acts. Because of the time I spent reading, I am ahead of schedule, and that always motivates me to stay on task.

Related Posts . . . 

FOUR. DIDN’T MAKE ENOUGH TIME FOR FRIENDS. Like most of you, I have a busy schedule. And I let that busy schedule keep me from spending time with friends. I regret not having more fun, walks, heart-to-heart-chats, prayer, and creating (baking, sewing, etc) with my friends.

REMEDY FOR 2015. I am scheduling “dates” with my friends. I have already done this with 3 of them and have had several dates.

Related Posts . . . 

FIVE. FORGOT ABOUT EATING FISH TWICE A WEEK.  (Not every goal has to be huge and difficult to achieve,) In 2013, I made it a goal to eat fish twice a week. I rocked that goal most weeks. And I started 2014 doing well too. But then I forgot all about it until last week (January 2015). I was talking to my daughter about my diet and remembered that goal. I am not sure when I stopped eating fish.

REMEDY FOR 2015. (1) I will go grocery shopping this weekend and purchase FISH. (2) I will make up a menu plan that lists fish for dinner or lunch. (3) Anytime I go out to eat, I will have the fish option (when available).

Related Posts . . . 

 Your Turn . . . 

  • What did you do last year that you wish you didn’t?
  • Share your plan to correct that this year.
Entry filed under: Diabetes, goals, Main. Tags: , .

MAKE BIG SOMETHING that is small: Thumbprint and Journaling Does the Sadness from Grief Ever Go Away?

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


