Does the Sadness from Grief Ever Go Away?

. at . Leave a comment

There’s a distinction between grief and sadness. For most of us grief fades over time. But sadness? I don’t know if that ever goes away. Or if it should.”  Army Wives episode,  grief counselor

Do you think this is true?

Do you think this is true?

  • Definition of Grief : deep and poignant distress caused by or as if by bereavement; a cause of such suffering
  • Definition of sadness: feeling associated with sorrow or unhappiness; somber;

I know after I’ve worked through profound periods of grief (divorce, death of my parents, working through abuse, parenting issues) a deep sadness has taken its place.

And from time-to-time that sadness grips me deeply and unannounced.

  • I am sad because of the unwanted long-term changes that resulted.
  • I am sad because I am different – and sometimes I don’t like that difference.
  • I am sad, unhappy, and somber because life didn’t work out the way I thought.

When I start thinking these types of thoughts too much, I start to spiral emotionally. So there are things I do to stop this spiral of unhappiness.

I don’t know if sadness will always be with me (from the losses I’ve had). But I do know I will make it because I have the support of God, others, and even myself. And that I will be a better person because of this process.

Your Turn . . . 

  • What’s your experience? Does the sadness from grief ever go away?
  • How do you handle this sadness when it seems to overwhelm you?

Related Posts . . .  Grief Table of Contents

Entry filed under: Grief, Main. Tags: , .

5 Things I Did in 2014 and Wish I Didn’t 5 Things I Did in 2014 and Am Glad I Did

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


