Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 14 comments

FFF birds on a wireMy favorite devotional reading so far this year:

“We don’t thank enough because we don’t think enough. Concentrated remembrance turns up vast quantities of material that derive from God and then are happily re-expressed in thanksgiving.” (Praying with the Psalms by Eugene Peterson)

This thought is a fitting way for me to start recounting my Friday’s Fave Five. Go here to read more and/or link up your own gratitude post at Living to Tell the Story.

Sofia is funny,loving, verbal, curious, active, smart, and joyous. I couldn't love her any more than I already do. . . . And oh, isn't chocolate just a heavenly taste? . . . Or maybe it is all about the frosting?

Sofia is funny, loving, verbal, curious, active, smart, and joyous. I couldn’t love her any more than I already do. . . .  And oh, isn’t chocolate just a heavenly taste? . . . Or maybe it is all about the frosting?

ONE. My grand-daughter turned two. We had a lovely party at a nearby park which had a playground and picnic tables in a small grove of redwood trees.

TWO. This text from my daughter-in-love about my grand-daughter: “Sofia and I are on the bus right now and she won’t let me put my feet up on the seat in front of me because she is saving it for you!” That just melted my heart!!!

THREE. Watching Murdach Mysteries on (free) Hulu. I discovered this new (to me) series and there are 6 free seasons on Hulu. This detective show is set in the late 1800’s in Toronto. Murdach is a catholic detective with reasoning skills like those of Sherlock Holmes. To solve the “who-donnit,” he uses new technology to his advantage.

FOUR. Decluttered for 6 hours this week. This was made possible because of binge-watching the Murdach Mysteries. Combining these two activities made a boring activity (decluttering) more than bearable and a frivolous one (watching TV) take on meaning. I took a  HUGE garbage bag, a plastic tub, and grocery bag FULL of items to the thrift store this week.

FIVE. Dinner and a movie with a friend. Marsha and I have similar food preferences (no sugar, low carb, but lots of salad and soup please). And we have similar viewing preferences as well.

Lately we’ve been getting together to eat and watch The Good Witch movies (starring Catherine Bell from Jag and The Army Wives ). Go here to see the first movie for free. We were inspired to see all these now because the movies have been turned into a TV series. The 2 hour premiere is on February 28 on Hallmark.

Your Turn . . . So what makes your Fave Five list this week? 

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

5 Ways to Make Someone’s Day on Valentine’s Day Monkey’s Morning Tea and CNC’s Annual Tea Are Rituals to NOT Miss

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathie  |  . at .

    Great favourites from your week – especially your sweet grandgirlie! Don’t they just make your heart overflow? what a blessing.

    Good for you decluttering – seems like there’s a lot of that going on in the fff community this week!

    Perfect Eugene Peterson quote – I enjoy his writing.

    Happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ellen  |  . at .

    Hello Susan, Your granddaughter looks like she’s a sweetie. How fun it must be to watch her grow. We’ve enjoyed Murdoch, too. We’ve been watching it on Netflix. Ahh…decluttering. That seems to be a theme on several blogs I’ve visited. It’s always nice to see a space de-cluttered. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    Your granddaughter is so cute! I enjoyed reading all of your faves…I don’t know Murdoch but my family does enjoy the BBC/PBS Sherlock. Enjoy the weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara  |  . at .

    Love reading your fave five! Thanks for sharing…your granddaughter is precious! We are celebrating my youngest grandson’s birthday tomorrow; he will be 2 on the 11th.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    That’s a good quote. It only take a little thinking to come up with a number of things to be thankful for.

    Belated happy birthday to your granddaughter! She looks so sweet. Neat that she wanted to save you a seat on the bus!

    I like combining watching TV with useful activities like that.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. jerralea  |  . at .

    Murdach Mysteries sounds very interesting. I wonder if they have it on Netflix?

    Good for you on the decluttering! Way to go!

    Granddaughters are a wonderful gift from God. Yours is so sweet!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. jerralea  |  . at .

    Oh, I just saw that Ellen says Murdach Mysteries is on Netflix. Yay!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Tobi@SimplyJesus  |  . at .

    Cute grandaughter! I watched the first of the Murdoch Mysteries one night, might have to check it out again. Great idea about de-cluttering and watching TV at the same time.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Jennifer Pepito  |  . at .

    Nice work with the decluttering! I am trying but it seems like there is a never ending amount of stuff to go through. Part of the hazards of having a big family, but so worth it.
    Blessings!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Tara  |  . at .

    So sweet of your granddaughter to save that seat for you. Also Eugene Peterson is one of my faves!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Gattina  |  . at .

    I love the Murdach series too. Decluttering is not on my list it’s too cold and I have a lack of energy !

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Karen Clark  |  . at .

    Great quote about being intentional in our thoughts. Love the story about your granddaughter on the bus:) I do like a good de-cluttering spree when I’m in the mood. I like your process!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Susanne  |  . at .

    What a sweetie your little granddaughter is. Two is such a fun age. Murdoch mysteries is a fun Canadian show. I’d love to see the episodes from the very beginning. And aren’t you clever pairing it with a chore.

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Wow, six hours of decluttering — I’m impressed, even with Murdoch in the background 🙂 Your Sofia is adorable. I’m sure you are loving her at every stage.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


