Friday’s Fave Five

. at . 6 comments

It is time to recount five blessings from last week. I had FFF springforgotten
what a great week it was until I looked at the calendar and my photos. Do you ever do that, forget what a great week you’ve had because of looking so intently at the details of today or even tomorrow?

 

z,X,mZX

Debbie’s use of glass and shapes is so pretty. The next class isn’t until after Easter.  ;(

ONE. CRAFTING. A friend (Debbie) and I attended a mosaic-making class at a church up the hill from us. This was the first class for both of us. Some people (namely Debbie) are better at this first time craft than others (namely me). I doubt I will be showing ya’ll a photo of my project.

But it was a fun time even though we didn’t speak much. I enjoyed breaking the glass and fitting it into my pattern (a cross). My brain felt very rested after the class.

 

 

lksajdjsdlkajs

I am on the left. Myrna is on the right.

TWO. CRAB-FEED. This is the first crab feed I have ever attended. I had a wonderful time with the other 3 ladies (Sydney, Myrna, and Wilma) in our group. We chatted about this-and-that. And of course we ATE. I especially liked the shrimp. 😉

klaSJLAKSJ

This mother-daughter duo, Wilma & Sydney, formed the rest of our crab-feed party.

THREE. ANOTHER WAFFLE & ICE CREAM BREAKFAST. Yep, another birthday was celebrated last week, my sister’s 50th. I love that my sister’s family has such a unique way of celebrating birthdays.

Happy Birthday, to my favourite sister, Jenny. She cultivates a thoughtful, generous, fun, resourceful, and godly-thinking life. Many are blessed by her (including me).

On a side note: Do you know how this tradition started? Years ago Jenny, Mark and their girls went back East to visit some of Mark’s family. They were there for the 4th of July. The Back East family has a tradition of having waffles and ice cream for breakfast. That idea was transported West and expanded to include birthdays.

xm,ZNX,mN

I made LOTS of “play doughs” snakes for Fia to cut up.

FOUR. GRAND DAUGHTER TIME. I took a day off, mid-week, and spent it with some of my Bay Area family. Now of course I LOVE all my Bay Area family. But nothing beats playing with my 2-year-old grand-daughter. Know what I mean?

We played with play dough, bubbles, and at the park. A new sand table, some búho (owl) stickers, and reading took up our time as well.

FIVE. STAFF DAY-LONG RETREAT. I always enjoy these. The concentrated time to plan for the next quarter is so helpful especially in seeing how the various ministries fit in with each other.

kJAS

These Dollar Store bubbles were quite the hit. I am amazed at her dexterity.

On a side note: We start all our meetings by answering this question: What is some good news you have to share (from your life or ministry)? This is a great way to start with a positive mind-set. It reminds us that there is GREAT stuff happening and that God is INVOLVED in a powerful, consistent, and loving way.

a,mnnsx

Oh, my! Here Fia is on the big swing. I didn’t even know that she graduated from the bucket swing.

BONUS: SOUP, SALAD, & A MOVIE. Another end-of-week meet-up with a dear friend (Marcia). She made an awesome pork and bean soup and gluten-free bread just for the occasion. I even have some leftovers to enjoy over the weekend. And of course I had some kitty snuggles as well. This evening was a GREAT way to end my work week.

We are now caught up with Agent Carter and The Good Witch. The Good Witch is a new series on Hallmark. It will be worth getting attached to.

So, take some time to look over your past week and share some of your blessings. Are you surprised by any of them? Check out other Friday’s Fave Five posts or share your own at Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story.

READ THIS FOR A SMILE While I was pushing my 2-year-old Fia on the swing, a 3-year-old boy came up and pointed to the bucket swing.

“This swing is for babies.”

He then pointed to the swing Fia was in and said, “This swing is for big boys. And I am a big boy.”

Fia was happy to trade, but as soon as he left, she went right back to swinging on the “big boy swing.”

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five Friday’s Fave Five

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I only had experience with mosaics once when one son did a class project with them. Quite an interesting project!

    I know what you mean about grandchild time. 🙂

    We enjoyed Agent Carter a lot as well. I like some of these shows with fewer episodes – it’s nice to watch a series with only 8-10 episodes some times.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Faith  |  . at .

    oh it sounds like you had a fun week! that craft glass class sounds like something I would enjoy although I might not be good at it! your granddaughter is a sweetie!! oh, I saw your comment about my Claire graduating, no, it is my OLDEST daughter Courtney who is graduating from Gordon College in May, Claire my youngest is only a 10th grader😄 enjoy the weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  . at .

    Love the waffles and ice cream for breakfast tradition! I may have to snag that for my grandbabies when they get a little bigger:)

    Your week sounds lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Deb  |  . at .

    Looks like a fun week. You have a darling granddaughter. Grand children are just the best! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a sweet comment!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    Love all the granddaughter pics. She is adorable! I would love to take a mosiac making class! I’ve always loved that style of art! Sounds like you had a very fun week.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    What fun to have some time with your granddaughter! That crab feed sounds fantastic — I love shellfish. That’s my parents’ new tradition as we celebrate their anniversary.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
12 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 640 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


