6 Month Update: Classic Book Reading Plan for 2015

. at . Leave a comment

backtotheclassics2015BUTTONI am joining others in an online book reading club. In fact I am joining 2! This first one is a Back to the Classics Challenge hosted by Karen’s Books and Chocolate.

I haven’t read many classics in my life, so I am excited about changing that deficit. Below are the categories and what books I think I will read.

  1. A 19th Century Classic  Moby Dick (1851) by Herman Melville. I am currently reading this on my Kindle. THIS BOOK WAS SUCH A STRUGGLE TO READ THAT I STOPPED HALF WAY AND READ A DIFFERENT BOOK FOR THIS SLOT: THE WOMAN IN WHITE (1859) BY WILKIE COLLINS  I READ IT IN JUNE 2015. Free on Kindle.
  2. A 20th Century Classic A Princess of Mars (1917) by  Edgar Rice Burroughs (Kindle). MY DAUGHTER & I READ THIS OUT LOUD TO EACH OTHER IN JUNE 2015. Free on Kindle.
  3. A Classic by a Woman Author The Secret Adversary (1822) By Agatha Christie  I READ THE SECRET ADVERSARY IN FEBRUARY 2015. Free on Kindle.
  4. A Classic Novella Heart of Darkness (1960) by Joseph Conrad. I READ THIS IN FEBRUARY 2015.
  5. A Classic Children’s Book Pollyanna (1913) by Eleanor H. Porter (Kindle). READ IT IN JUNE 2015. Free on Kindle.
  6. A Classic with a Person’s Name in the Title Nicholas  Nickleby (1838) by Charles Dickens (Kindle). FINISHED JULY 2, 2015. Free on Kindle.
  7. A Nonfiction ClassicThe Innocents Abroad a travel book by Mark Twain (1869) FINISHED READING THIS JULY 22, 2015.
  8. A Forgotten Classic— Joseph Andrews (1742) by Henry Fielding. FINISHED READING JULY  25, 2015.
  9. A Humorous or Satirical Classic— Gulliver’s Travels (satire) by Jonathan Swift (1726). FINISHED READING JULY 29, 2015.
  10. A Classic in Translation The Imitation of Christ by Thomas à Kempis. It was first composed in Latin ca.1418-1427. Still reading – will finish in 2016.
  11. A Classic PlayThe Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams (1944). FINISHED READING AUGUST 23, 2015.
  12. A Very Long Classic Novel— War and Peace (1869) by Leo Tolstoy (Kindle). Free on Kindle.Still reading – will finish in 2016.

2 NOTES: 6 of the above books are available for free for e-readers. . . . Article originally published 2.12.2015.

Your Turn . . .

  • Do you read many classics? Tell us your favourite book.
  • Do you have a suggestion for one of my empty spots?
  • To join us in the classic reading adventure, go here for more information.

Related Posts . . . Reading to Know Classics Book Club 2015 . . . This blogger/reader has some good ideas for each category. As does this blogger. And one more blogger with great titles is here.

I am participating in the Austen in August Reading Challenge. It will be my first time to EVER read an Austen book.

Entry filed under: Main, My Year of 57 Things. Tags: , .

Babette’s Feast Shown on Tuesday, June 30 Friday’s Fave Five

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
9 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 728 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


