Friday’s Fave Five (July 31, 2015)

. at . 7 comments

However many blessings we expect from God, His infinite liberality will always exceed all our wishes and our thoughts,” John Calvin. This week is FULL of blessings that exceeded my expectations. Here are 5 of them.

Elizabeth, Susan (me), and Mary: Mary has been a family friends for 30+ years.

Elizabeth, Susan (me), and Mary: Mary has been a family friend for 30+ years.

ONE. Unexpected meeting with a long time friend. Elizabeth and I were shopping for some last minute things for a potluck at church the next day. Then we happily came across Mary!

Mary was a dear friend of my mom’s. And we have many memories of these two. Mary and I made plans to meet up soon so she could share some more memories of my mom. I am soooo glad to have this updated photo of the 3 of us together.

Your Turn . . . Do you have a friend who has (some untold) memories of a dear departed family member? Mary is one such person for us. I want to journal what she tells me so I can include this information in our family history.

Marsha, Susan (me), and Giillian:We've been friends for years. But we;ve been birthday lunching for only several years.

Marsha, Susan (me), and Giillian: We’ve been friends for years. But we’ve been birthday lunching for only several years. I am looking forward to many more years together!

TWO. Birthday lunch group.

This time we celebrated Marsha. The birthday girl gets to pick the spot. We went to a restaurant that specializes in comfort foods: Dad’s Kitchen.

Marsha and Gillian are foodies and slowly I am learning a thing or two because of their conversation, time spent cooking with them,  and because of some of the places we have visited.

Your Turn . . .  Do you participate in a lunch group (birthday or otherwise)? If yes, why do y’all meet up? Are you a foodie?

My daughter and I sealed the can this week. We'll open it in July of 2018.

My daughter and I sealed the can this week. We’ll open it in July of 2018.

THREE. Sealed our memory can.

You could also call this memory can a time capsule. Completing a time capsule is something I had on my Birthday Bucket List for this year.

We brainstormed some questions that we’d love to know the answers to in three years. (I will be 60 in 3 years.)

  • Health
  • Prices of things
  • Dreams
  • Highs and lows of 2015 (so far)
  • Books read and projects completed in 2015 (so far)
  • Memorable photos

Your Turn . . . Have you ever made a memory can or time capsule? If yes, why and have you opened it yet? If you haven’t, is it a temptation to do so? Why or why not?

Next year my daughter and I wil do another one which we will open in 4 years because she will be 35 then. And I am hoping to get my son and his family involved in this. I can see myself becoming addicted to this activity!

Ken and Sydney hiked down Porcupine Trail.Although we didn't have a set meet up point, it worked out perfectly.

Ken and Sydney hiked down Porcupine Trail from Tuolomne Meadows to Yosemite Valley.

FOUR. Successful drop off and pick up at Yosemite.

Despite traffic congestion due to roadwork, Elizabeth (my daughter) made it to her orientation. After filling out paperwork and having a uniform fitting, I helped her move into temporary housing.

Elizabeth is now working at Tuolomne Meadows (TM) in Yosemite National Park. TM is the largest sub-alpine meadow system in California’s Sierra Nevada mountain range.

Ken and Sydney started at 8,600 feet and ended at 3,900 feet. We talked about us meeting (in the Valley) so that I had a place to stay for the night, I didn’t have to drive up the mountains (I was afraid it would be scary like Hwy 1), and so that they’d have a ride back up the mountains. Although we didn’t have a set meet up point or time (in Yosemite Valley), it worked out perfectly.

I KNOW that God helped us in this as we “just happened” to see each other at the same time. And it was crazy busy there; in fact I was told this year Yosemite has had record-setting visitations. So it still amazes me whenever I think about how “easy” it was to find each other without pre-arranged plans.

Your Turn . . . Share a recent miracle that you’ve witnessed.

Ken is a master of baking in a dutch oven, DELISH biscuits and blueberry muffins were on offer.

Ken explained that dutch oven cooking requires you to put coals on top of the oven as well as underneath. There are even dutch oven cook books. Who knew?!

FIVE. Common food in an unusual way. Ken is a master of baking in a dutch oven, DELISH biscuits and blueberry muffins were on offer. Add some butter and red raspberry jam and you have my version of ambrosia.

Outdoor cooking always seems to taste so much better. Even the humble hot dog or scrambled eggs taste so much better cooked on a grill.

Your Turn . . .  Have you ever used a dutch oven? Do you have a favourite camping food?

FFF springLink up your five fave moments from this past week at Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story.

Or leave a comment below sharing a blessing you had this past week.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), goals, Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , , , .

Friday’s Fave Five (July 24, 2015) Austen in August Reading Challenge

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gattina  |  . at .

    It’s always nice to meet friends ! Your daughter is lucky to be able to work in this beautiful park !

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  . at .

    Don’t know much about outdoor cooking. Sounds interesting!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    I had to smile at the concept of comfort food at Dad’s Kitchen. In my dad’s kitchen would be… my mom! So nice to run into good friends. Roomie made a new friend when she overheard someone at Target speaking French to her son. She caught up with the woman and will join their group of French-English speakers.

    That’s great your daughter gets to work in such beautiful surroundings! Sigh!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. catladymarsha  |  . at .

    You’ve had an action packed week, my friend. Was happy to be part of it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    How fun to have time with old friends, whether an unplanned run-in or a regularly scheduled get-together.

    The memory can idea sounds interesting. Glad everything went well at Yosemite, especially finding each other!

    I have a big pan called a Dutch oven and always wondered why it was called that. I didn’t know it was for outdoor use. I mainly use it inside on the stove top for corn on the cob or soups.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Faith  |  . at .

    meeting friends for lunch is one of my faves too!! fave camping food for us when we had our camper and the girls were younger were something called chocolate eclairs. we made them out of crescent roll dough wrapped around tent poles. heated them until golden over the fire. carefully slid them off the tent poles amd scooped chocolage instant pudding into each crescent. YUM! we dont eat hot dogs or beef amymore and no im not becoming a vegan. i am cutting out pork, beef and turkey. will eat chicken only once a week and then it has to be free range. sometimes i will eat bison. diabetes runs on my mothers side of family( 2 uncles and an aunt have it) but not me thank the Lord! i brought my cholesterol down 12 points last year by eliminating certain processed foods/ meats and this year i hope it is even lower!!! ( my numbers are less than 200 ….196 and my ldl is just ok and the hdl should be raised by about 6 points). Im actually trying to be a pescatarian but i will still eat hard boiled eggs for protein. i think a plant based diet is optimal for americans. most americans are just too heavy and at age 55 althoigh i am not overweight, i have noticed i gaoned 8 lbs due to menopause!
    so i want to get those 8 lbs off and be more heart healthy as heart disease runs in my family too!! sorry this is long!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Willow  |  . at .

    I had to laugh at #5. For several months when we first moved to the interior village in Papua, Indonesia, I cooked everything on an open fire as it was the only way to cook at the time. So, yes, I’ve used ‘dutch ovens’ to cook, and no, I don’t do it anymore (although we do camp).
    No memory can, either. But I do make five year goals and check on them from time to time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


