Friday’s Fave Five (August 14, 2015)

. at . 10 comments

FFF springThis week has not been one of outlandish joys but the quiet joys of relationships. I present to you 5 blessings from this past week, And should you care to recount your own, do so in the comments or go to Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story where you can link up with others as they also share their Five Favorite blessings. (aka Friday’s Fave Five).

ONE. Time with a friend and Tomorrowland – the movie not the place. Sunday afternoon a friend, Pam, texted and asked if I wanted to join her at the movies. She was going to see Tomorrowland. I didn’t know anything about this movie which starred George Clooney and Hugh Laurie. But I knew that time with this friend was a guaranteed hit.

Not only was it great to visit with Pam, I enjoyed the movie. It was inspiring, funny, and a feel-good movie. It had many quotes that were thought-provoking. Below are four especially thought-provoking quotes.

  • “You’ve got simultaneous epidemics of obesity and starvation, explain that one.”
  • “Find the ones who haven’t given up. They’re the future.”
  • “Even the teeniest of actions could change the future.”
  • “It’s hard to have ideas and easy to give up.”

TWO. Facetime. I love my cell phone especially when I get to Facetime those I love. This week I was able to have a chatty conversation with my son (which is almost never chatty) and at a different time one with my grand-daughter and daughter-in-love.

I also spoke with my daughter although not on Facetime. The reception in Yosemite wasn’t strong enough.

Catching up on the details of our lives and expressing affection are always a blessing.

THREE. Narrowing down a Christmas meal. I have friends that match various interests in my life. One of them (Gillian) is a great go-to person for figuring out menus. Before we know it, Christmas celebrations will be here. I  asked Gillian to help me with the menu for a Christmas dinner that I will oversee. We cooked some recipes and decided which one will be THE entree. Next time we will try out some dessert recipes.

It was so fun to be in her company and to get this planning done early.

FOUR. Women and Stuck – the study not the position. I am leading some women through this book. Not only do I appreciate the material and the opportunity to talk about God and my (imperfect) life with FREEDOM, I appreciate the insights, support, fun-nature, and love of God these women have.

I am a BETTER person not only because of regular time with God and His Word, but also because of regular time with these women!

FIVE. Another reading challenge. I am getting addicted to finding and participating in reading challenges. I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I am part of the Austen in August Reading Challenge. It is going well. Next week I will start Emma.

My latest add is going through Knowing God with Tim Challies. If you haven’t read this book or it has been a while since you have, think about joining in the discussion.

Knowing God is an old favourite and is as dear to me as any person. Do you feel that way about some books? I KNOW I will rediscover many, many fine ideas and repeatable quotes that will enhance my spiritual life. It would be awesome if the same happened for you as well.

Share some blessing from your life, won’t you?

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five (August 7, 2015) Friday’s Fave Five (August 21, 2015)

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    i love your list of faves! love George butnhave never heard of this movie. we usually dont go to movies..l.we do instant streaming on Netflix😀 way cheaper!!
    my youngest who is going to be a junior in HS in just 3 more weeks is reading Emma as her optional reading assignment for Honors English. They had to Read Catcher in the Rye so she chose Emma as her free choice. She collects Jane Austen books as does my oldest.
    wow…I do NOT want to think about Xmas!!! am thoroughly enjoying summer although we did buy a small xmas gift yesterday at a local craft fair😀

    love good Bible studies and the fellowship it brings.
    love Facetime too….glad you had some great chats

    enjoy the weekend and what it brings.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Susanne  |  . at .

    I heard of the that movie but it didn’t catch my attention. I’ll have to take another look. How fun to precook Christmas with a friend. We usually do turkey but sometimes it’s fun to break the mold! That study looks really interesting!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. jerralea  |  . at .

    Yes! I truly believe this: “Even the teeniest of actions could change the future.”

    I haven’t done Facetime myself, but my son-in-law in Kuwait calls my daughter and is able to see his babies on it. What a blessing!

    Thanks for coming by my place today. In answer to your question, I could share my lesson on Gideon and the 300. I actually have a lot of material from my Wednesday night bible studies. The reason I’ve never shared it is because I felt it was too long for one post. I could do a series if I thought there was any interest in it … If you’d like to give me your input on that idea, you could email me at prov31grace@yahoo.com

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. karen58  |  . at .

    I’m glad to see someone else mention Christmas in an August post. I hadn’t heard of the movie, but anything with George Clooney is something I’d like to see. Not only is he easy on the eyes, but he’s such a great actor.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Gattina  |  . at .

    I haven’t seen Tomorrowland, I even never heard of it ! Sons are less communicative as daughters. I have only one son, and our conversations mostly very limited, lol !

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. a spirit of simplicity  |  . at .

    Sounds like an interesting movie. I have started Emma and hope to finish it by Tuesday. I will be busy all weekend so I won’t have much time for reading. I think I will start Persuasion next.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I don’t think I had heard of Tomorrowland, bur it sounds interesting. Glad you got some great time with friends and Facetime with family – I love that feature! Somehow I have not ever read Knowing God but am planning to with Challies.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Willow  |  . at .

    Connecting via cellphone, skype or facetime is such a blessing for keeping connected.
    I hope you’re enjoying the Austen novels. One of these days I’ll read them all…

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Wonderful faves that are outlandish joys in their own right! Love those connections with family and dear ones and the technology that allows it. I have an elderly friend who gave up email, so it’s back to the phone for us😉 And I agree heartily with #4 — there’s nothing like growing together.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. jerralea  |  . at .

    Susan, I just dropped by and read your “Tidbits About Me” page. I was pleasantly surprised to learn one of your choices of an alternative career would be a spy! We must be soul sisters!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


