Friday’s Fave Five (August 28, 2015)

. at . 6 comments

FFF springSome weeks the body doesn’t do so well and all the senses have “issues.” This week allergies and asthma tackled my senses (I’m guessing b/c of all the fires in CA).

But I am fine now and am very grateful to have my senses back in working order. So in honour of them rallying, below are five ways my senses blessed me this week.

ONE. SIGHT – Watching a (new to be) series about the Celts (on Amazon). I have Scottish ancestry and boy was I surprised to learn that Celts hail from Central Europe.

Your Turn . . . What is your fave sight? Has anything about your ancestry surprised you?

TWO. HEARING – Ladies Night Out at a nearby church. Our ears were treated to a concert and comedian act – lots of great music by Danny Gokey and lots of clean, funny jokes by Kerri Pomarolli. What made this extra wonderful is that a friend had an extra ticket and invited me to join her and 2 others.

Your Turn . . . What is your favourite sound?                                                         Besides music, mine is a baby’s laughter, rain on a tin roof, and my grand-daughter asking me, “What you want, Grandma?”when we are playing in her kitchen.

THREE. TOUCH – Field trip to Ocean Beach (SF) with ladies from my church. My touch receptors worked overtime feeling the sand on my feet (I always walk barefoot across the shoreline). And our faces were chaffed by the sun and wind. Even though the wind does cause some skin damage, I LOVE the wind.

Your Turn . . . What is your favourite touch?                                          Walking barefoot on the beach is always a favourite. But then, getting a massage from someone who knows what they are doing, is also a fave.

FOUR. TASTE – Senior’s (from church) 4th Sunday meal was at The Spaghetti Factory.  There is always something lovely to enjoy from the opening act of the warm bread and garlic butter to the pasta dishes to the spumoni final act.

Your Turn . . .What is your fave taste?                                                                    Mine is ice cream. The only time I really want spumoni is when I am at The Spaghetti Factory. I don’t even know if you can but that flavour in the grocery store.

FIVE. SMELL – My fave perfume. I don’t wear perfume very often because so many folks at work (I work in  church) have allergies. But one night I treated myself and I wore it to bed. Even if I have to say so myself, I smelled good! I will have to do this more often – silly, I know.

Your Turn . . . What is your favourite perfume? Do you wear it very often?

Why don’t you share some way(s) your senses blessed you this past week? You can link up your own post at Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story.

PS. I am probably way late to the game in learning this tidbit of sense knowledge, but did you know that humans have more than 5 senses? I just found out while writing this.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five (August 21, 2015) Friday’s Fave Five (9/4/15)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deb  |  . at .

    One: Important to remind myself that I cannot un-see certain programs and best to carefully choose my entertainment.
    Two: The rustling of the tree s
    Three: A child brushing my hair.
    Four: spaghetti factory? yummo…the best broccoli ever!
    Five: The cleansing smell of fresh rain on the earth

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Your ladies’ night out and field trip sound like such fun! I have never been to the Spaghetti Factory – will have to see if there is one here.

    I am one of those people who can’t wear perfume (or even burn scented candles). I don’t know if it is an allergic reaction, but they give me a headache and make me feel like I can’t breathe, even though I can. But every now and then I catch a whiff of one that smells good and I wish I could wear it.

    I always have trouble narrowing down a favorite anything to just one or two, but a few of my favorite sensed items are: sight: sunsets and sunrises, the faces of my family, flowers; hearing: lovely music, babies laughing; touch: soft blankets in the winter time; taste: chocolate, Mexican food; smell: cookies baking in the oven, fresh coffee, the scent outside after rain.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. karen58  |  . at .

    My aunt was telling me a story about my great-grandparents this morning, one that I hadn’t heard before. Nice to hear something new.

    My favorite sound this week was my granddaughter calling me ‘Grandma.’ (wrote about this in my FFF); and the sound of my husband’s footsteps when he comes home from work in the evening:)

    Foot massage! is one of my favorite things of all time!

    Ice cream — vanilla with hot fudge, please.

    And, I wear perfume all the time. My favorite scent changes every few years, but I do like Chanel 19.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Gattina  |  . at .

    It seems you had a very nice week !

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. a spirit of simplicity  |  . at .

    Celts sounds very interesting. I am Irish with a bit of Scotch…and, of course, American as well. I don’t wear perfume as it seems to bother so many people around me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Susanne  |  . at .

    We love the Spaghetti Factory!! One of favourite go to places when we visit other cities that have one. That warm bread with the garlic butter? Yum.

    I think that going to bed with your perfume is a wonderful idea when you work with scent sensitive people! That way you can still enjoy your scent. My favourite perfums of all time are Coco by Chanel and Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior. I wear others but those two I love.

    I you love wind, you should move to Southern Alberta. We’ve got it spare.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


