Friday’s Fave Five (9/4/15)

. at . 8 comments

FFF springWow – this week went by so quickly, packed with activity. I am glad I keep a calendar of my days so I can easily look back to be reminded of what happened when and with whom.

Next up is my list of five blessings from this past week. To link up your own or to read more lists, go to the FFF meme hosted by Susanne at Living to Tell the Story.

ONE. Gratitude Calendar. One of the past recent weeks my Wednesday small group studied “overwhelmed.” I gave everyone a $1 planner that goes from August 2015 – December 2016. We brainstormed some various ways to use our new planner in order to combat overwhelm.

The suggestion I am following is using it to write down something I am thankful for each day. It is small enough to fit into my purse (or back pack). And since it is small I have no need to feel guilty about not writing LOTS on each day’s space. A friend from the class (Denise) even helped me transform the bright pink cover into something more eye-pleasing.

Your Turn . . . Do you have a 2016 calendar yet? Do you keep a daily gratitude journal?

TWO. Finished 3 books this week. I spent most of my free time finishing these fast reads. Book 1 – The Scent of Water by Elizabeth Goudge. Some FFF writers suggested this book . . .  mental illness . . . spiritual discipline . . . love and renewal . . . an unexpected find. . . Book 2  – The Registry by Shannon Stoker. A friend lent this (first book of a trilogy) to me. Such a different premise for how the USA ends up financing herself – by the sale of *&%@#*  – – You’ll have to read the book to find out!.  . . Book 3 – The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis. I’ve read it before and reread it for the Reading to Know Classics Book Club. Whenever I read this I am reminded that the satanic influences around me are real and that they are often very subtle. So I want to stay alert to God’s leading and love. BTW – our Barb is leading the discussion on this book.

Your Turn . . . What is the latest book you’ve read? Have you read any of the above 3 that I mentioned? Any more book advice?

THREE. Two Day Staff Planing Retreat. Every 3 months we gather and plan the upcoming quarter for church. It is always helpful to nail down dates, hear what the other ministries are up to, and make sure there is just enough on the calendar to encourage growth but not so much that we get ourselves overwhelmed.

In addition to planning we also played. We were introduced to a new game called Coup. I even won one of the hands. But it might have been pure luck that I won. While I am competitive I am not a skilled card player as I am too lazy to keep track of the cards and plan ahead.

Your Turn . . . have you ever played Coup? Does your work do this type of planning? Do you ever do it for your personal life? I never have but I am thinking that this could be a very beneficial task to do.

FOUR. LONG talk. Sunday after church I had lunch and a 4 hour visit with a friend (Pam). It was meant to be short since we both had things to do. But after lunch we sat in the car with the windows down and talked and talked and talked. The reason we stopped when we did was because my cell phone rang. I am glad we had that time. I don’t know about Pam, but I still got everything done that needed doing (by bedtime).

Your Turn . . . When was the last time you had a LONG conversation with someone? Didn’t the time just fly by?!!

FIVE. Clothes shopping. I typically don’t enjoy shopping because it is so hard to find things that look okay. But today the unexpected happened; I went shopping and came home with a HAUL (of course all on sale). I needed some new work clothes and so this was a real treat for which I am grateful.

Your Turn . . . Did the unexpected happen this week? Share what that was. . . .  Feel free to answer these questions or share a blessing or two from your past week (in the comments).

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five (August 28, 2015) Friday’s Fave Five (9/11/2015)

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela  |  . at .

    Yeah I got my stuff done too. Thanks for the wonderful conversation. I am so glad we took the time…precious time.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Gattina  |  . at .

    I never plan anything because my plans always change, lol ! Never heard about coup ! I like Elizabeth Georges books too.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    I live in the moment although I DO plan social events like hikes and bonfire get togethers but def dont have a 2016 calendar yet!!! lol lets enjoy the rest of summer shall we??!😜 Oh i had to read Screwtape Letters in college…i should read it again! ( yes i did undergrad at Christian college). and i LOVED the scent of water….great book!! glad you liked it too! yay for good talks with good friends and new back to work clothes!!! enjoy the weekend and savor the season!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Glad you found some good work clothes on sale! I had never heard of Coup. No 2016 calendars for me yet – not til December. I have a general plan for the day but it has to be fluid – I never know what is going to happen around here and get get unsettled if I have gone to the trouble to plan. On the other hand, no plan at all leaves me drifting and wasting time. So somewhere in-between works best for me personally. For ministry, though, it is vital to have those planning sessions so that each group can minister effectively and in an orderly way without upsetting another group’s plans or dates.

    Glad you had time for a long talk with a friend! I’m looking forward to The Screwtape Letters, too.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susanne  |  . at .

    I have never read Screwtape letters though have been meaning to for years. I should have looked ahead a bit and planned for that with Barbara’s discussion. I do some planning but my hubby is a bit of spur of the moment kind of person so I’ve learned to go with the flow.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Willow  |  . at .

    I’ve read two of the three books.Time to reread Screwtape Letters!
    Because we are on academic calenders, my hubby and I are calendar driven. I keep a home calendar on my desk and use 3×5 cards for daily/weekly scheduling. It works for me. But Saturdays tend to be a bit free spirit. I love a schedule but have no problem changing it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. a spirit of simplicity  |  . at .

    I do have a calendar and I love having it. I have been able to keep track of all sorts of things. I like being able to see the real deal and not just on line. I like your idea of the gratitude calendar.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    Susan, Susan. I meant to come by to comment, but like your week, mine just got away from me!

    So nice to have gotten so much of your shopping done in one big swoosh — and on sale, too😉

    The Screwtape discussions sound tempting but I’m afraid to commit to reading when this month’s activities are already consuming me. But I’ll peek in and see how y’all are doing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


