4 Things I Learned By Making Peanut Butter Cookies with Spiders on Top

. at . 2 comments

:LZK

My Best Advice: Read the Directions WELL!!!

Several years ago I read this recipe for peanut butter spider cookies that Kristan from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen came up with. There were so adorable I HAD to make them.

I made these at my sister’s house where my nieces, sista, and brother-in-law got into the baking action. Lots of fun ensued and I learned four things.

1. Read the Directions. By not fully reading the directions I bought the wrong size Reece’s Peanut butter cups. This recipe called for the mini-sized dudes. While the chocolate fix is greater with the regular-sized peanut butter cups, the cookie also needs to be bigger.

So instead of using a tablespoon as my scoop, I used an ice cream scoop in order to make the cookies big enough to hold the bigger chocolate body. I also needed to bake the cookies at least 15 minutes instead of the original 10 minutes.

zZZ

Even though this auntie was unprepared because of NOT reading the directions ahead of  time, there were still plenty of smiles. And the cookies were delish!

2. Read the directions. By not fully reading the directions I bought the wrong kind of licorice. I foolishly thought that you could peel apart the strands from chocolate-flavored Twizzlers. Nope.

We ended up slicing 3 inch pieces in half – length-wise  –  and then in half again. They weren’t perfect legs, but good enough. Of course this took way more work and time than if I had bought  the correct licorice (as suggested by this recipe).

Because of the extra work involved, we decided that our spiders would have only 6 legs.

3. Read the directions. By not fully reading the directions I did not have the necessary “cementing” tools. I thought the licorice was poked into the peanut butter bodies. You can do that, which is what we did. BUT…. It takes longer and doesn’t always look that great.

We finally thought of using peanut butter to cement the candy eyeballs to the peanut butter cup. Chocolate candy melts or melted chocolate chips were suggested in the recipe.

It is a little messy to use peanut butter. And on our cookies you can see some peanut butter cement leaking out the side.

4. Read the Directions. By not fully reading the directions, the peanut butter cups melted. We put the peanut butter cups on the hot/warm cookie and the peanut butter cups melted. Still looked cool, but not as cool as when the bodies are more distinct.

They turned out cute. But to make quality ones, the work involved was too much. So we made 6 BIG cookies for the youth bake sale. And then the family members each made some for personal consumption. We decorated our cookies with our own ideas of what looked spooky.

By the end of the night everyone was happy with their creations. And it was fun. One of the teens said, “We should do this more often.”

NOTE. This is an old post that I forgot to publish. I am cleaning out my old drafts and came upon this.

Your Turn . . .

  • Have you ever had a mishap because of not reading the directions well before cooking/baking/crafting???
  • What festive Halloween recipe are you serving up this year?

Related Posts . . . 

Note: These cookies were made and photographed in 2012. Somehow this post got lost in my draft archives. But since they are still a great cookie to make for the Fall, I am posting this today.

Entry filed under: Holidays, Main, Recipes. Tags: , .

Finding Laughter: Books on my Laughter Bookshelf (day 4) Finding Laughter – Ted Talks (day 5)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MargeKatherine  |  . at .

    Sounds like by not reading the directions you made a memorable afternoon of baking with the family. Your niece will probably remember that experience for MANY years to come!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. jennifer@kitchenserf  |  . at .

    A few things, those cookies look amazing and I would have eaten them no matter how much they oozed chocolate and peanut butter.

    I’m sure I’ve had recipe mishaps from not reading it through before hand but I can’t remember. #middleage

    I’ve had making homemade marshmallows on my recipe “bucket list” forever. So maybe those sometime this month but I’m not sure. I also saw another recipe today that looks good for salted vanilla almond butter! I love almond butter and it’s so good on crisp, fall apples.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


