Finding Laughter: Books on my Laughter Bookshelf (day 4)

. at . 16 comments

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writingBecause I like to read, Finding Laughter (my quest and writing challenge for this month) will involve books as research tools.

There are at least 100 books involving laughter . . .

  •  memoirs of comedians
  • children’s books
  • collections of humourous stories and jokes
  • scientific investigations
  • how to’s on how to be funny.

I’ve ordered books from my library system that deal with laughter. So far I have 14 books on my laughter book shelf. And there are several more to pick up from the library.

My Plan

  • Basically the plan is to read and see what I learn.
  • I will share the pertinent tidbits.
  • I don’t really know what I am looking for because I have never studied this topic and I don’t know what it is I don’t know.
  • I am hoping the end result is that these readings help me to laugh more on a daily basis.

After the jump is the initial list of books on my laughter bookshelf. I won’t have a chance to read all the below this month. So I will pick those that look most germane to digest and report on.

Your Turn . . . Can you recommend a “laughter” book?

Related Internet Posts . . .  32 Books Guaranteed To Make You Laugh Out Loud … I haven’t read even ONE of these. Have you?

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

Click on “Read More” for my book list.

  1. A treasury of laughter, consisting of humerous stories, poems, essays, tall tales, jokes, boners, epigrams, memorable quips, and devastating crushers– Selected and edited with an introduction by Louis Untermeyer. Illustrated by Lucille Corcos
  2. Anatomy of an illness as perceived by the patient: reflections on healing and regeneration by Norman Cousins
  3. Between heaven and mirth: why joy, humor, and laughter are at the heart of the spiritual life by James Martin
  4. Henry Hyena, why won’t you laugh? by Douglas Jantzen
  5. Laugh: portraits of the greatest comedians and the funny stories they tell each other– photographs by William Claxton; introduction by John Lithgow; conceived and produced by Andy Gould and Kathleen Bywater; text edited by Mike Thomas
  6. Laugh after laugh: the healing power of humor by Raymond A. Moody, Jr
  7. Laughter: a scientific investigation by Robert R. Provine
  8. Lincoln tells a joke: how laughter saved the president (and the country) by Kathleen Krull & Paul Brewer; illustrated by Stacy Innerst
  9. The art of laughter by Neil Schaeffer
  10. The courage to laugh: humor, hope, and healing in the face of death and dying by Allen Klein
  11. The healing power of humor: techniques for getting through loss, setbacks, upsets, disappointments, difficulties, trials, tribulations, and all that not-so-funny stuff by Allen Klein
  12. The humor code: a global search for what makes things funny by Peter McGraw, PhD and Joel Warner
  13. The learning power of laughter: over 300 playful games, activities, and ideas that promote learning with young children by Jackie Silberg
  14. This time together: laughter and reflection by Carol Burnett
Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: , .

Finding Laughter: Instructional Videos (day 3) 4 Things I Learned By Making Peanut Butter Cookies with Spiders on Top

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammy McDonald  |  . at .

    Being a life coach that specializes in Grief and Loss, I fully understand the journey to laughter and joy. I would recommend the book “I’d rather be Laughing ” by Marilyn Meberg. It is fantastic! I hope you find what you are looking for in this journey. #write31days

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for the suggestion, Tammy. I ordered the book (from the library) and it came in already. I look forward to seeing what it has to teach me.

      Like

  • 3. Dianne Thornton  |  . at .

    A friend recommended this book to me when I was “sitting on my nest,” pregnant with twins. Much laughter here! Worms in My Tea, and Other Mixed Blessings … By Becky Freeman.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello Dianne, the book title is funny. I couldn’t find it in the library, but I did find a used copy. I have it in my suitcase to read when I am at retreat the end of October. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Liked by 1 person

    • 5. Dianne Thornton  |  . at .

      I’m so glad you found it! I know you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

      Like

  • 6. Anita Ojeda  |  . at .

    I’ve never read a book on laughter before–but I have read a lot of funny books :). I especially love Patrick F. McManus’ books :).

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for the idea, Anita. My library has one Patrick F. McManus book as an ebook, so I have it on hold. I a, looking forward to reading and laughing.

      Like

  • 8. hopeful50  |  . at .

    I’m not sure I can think of a laughter book. I’m afraid I’m no help.

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. susan2009  |  . at .

      Maybe you can read one of the suggestions here? Thanks for stopping by though. I appreciate your “company.”

      Like

  • 10. carol525  |  . at .

    Marilyn Meberg and Patsy Clairmont have some great books filled with laughter and I agree with Anita, Patrick McManus books leave me in hysterics. Of course, those are funnier if you’ve ever down the outdoorsy things. There are some great youtube videos too!

    Like

    Reply
    • 11. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for your input, Carol. I am searching for some Patsy Clairmont books. I remember reading one YEARS ago. It is time I revisted her work.

      Youtube videos of Marilyn Meberg and Patsy Clairmont?

      Like

  • 12. Jenn  |  . at .

    For The Love, by Jen Hatmaker was very funny and so relatable. Laughter is so important, it is great that you are highlighting it.

    Like

    Reply
    • 13. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Jenn.. I just got it as an audio book. This will be the first audio book (except for books on cassette tapes) that I have ever listened to.

      Like

  • 14. Sarah  |  . at .

    What a great study! I’m not familiar with ANY of those books… shame on me, I don’t utilize the library for myself hardly at all anymore. BUT there are some great children’s books that make even me laugh: “That Big Guy Stole My Ball” and of course anything by Shel Silverstein. Like Carol above, I always loved Patsy Clairmont, too. I think as an adult, I’ve neglected the importance of laughter.

    Like

    Reply
    • 15. Sarah  |  . at .

      Who am I kidding… I love all Mo Willems books; I don’t care that they’re written for children. 🙂

      Like

    • 16. susan2009  |  . at .

      Sarah, I LOVE children’s books so I am thrilled that you’ve given me some titles to read. I am not familiar with Mo Willems’ books but that will change the next time I visit the library.

      Shel Silverstein is funny and I do have several of his books. I forgot all about reading them for this challenge.

      Thanks for all the ideas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


