Finding Laughter: I Need Jokes (Day 8)

. at . 6 comments

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writingEven 20 month olds understand something about humour. Recently this conversation took place between my grand daughter and her mom.

Sofia was saying something in a low voice. Mom was not really paying attention. Then the child said in a distinct voice, “That was a joke, mommy.” 

Even if we heard the words, we probably wouldn’t have found them humorous. I remember when my two went through that stage when they THOUGHT they were saying funny things, but really it was nonsensical. And maybe that’s why it was funny – it was nonsensical.

Whether using well-thought out speech or nonsense I am not funny – at least not on purpose. I have a disorder. It is not yet listed in the DSM-IV (the manual of all mental health disorders for both children and adults), but it is real. This disorder apparently has 80-90% of the U.S. adult population in its grips.

It is called seriousness or being laughter-resistant.

I wonder if I can be purposefully funny? I am not the best at remembering jokes. And I am not a great joke teller. But supposedly both of those things can be remedied. So I am going to start collecting jokes and tell at least one a day.

So here is my first joke – How did the Pilgrims spell mousetrap with only 3 letters? The answer is at the very bottom of this post.

I also wonder if doing the above will  encourage me to laugh more? Will collecting and telling jokes help me climb out of the well of seriousness and become a laugh-magnet? Let’s see.

Your Turn . . . Are you laughter-resistant? If yes, what are you going to do about it?  . . .  Share a joke with me, okay?

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

The answer to the joke is C-A-T.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: .

Finding Laughter: First Week Summary (day 7) Finding Laughter: What Does Norman Cousin’s Laughter Have to Do With Me? (Day 9)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  . at .

    I laughed at your joke. It made me smile. We all need to be better about taking time to laugh. Oh and here is a cheesy joke a kid told me one time! “What do you call a fish with no I? A fssshhh

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Your joke made me laugh, Tara. And it is one I can remember.

      Like

  • 3. carol525  |  . at .

    Here’s my funny for the day: My student told me today, with a dead serious face, “Mrs. Bovee, you’re not as old as ‘old’, but you’re not quite young enough to be young either.” You would think I wouldn’t find that funny, given that I turn 50 tomorrow (Oh dear me), but I have been chuckling about that all day. Unfortunately it’s not really a joke, as its all true, but it did make me laugh. Maybe you too? 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Carol, first of all, Happy Birthday. And your student’s words did tickle me, too. It was such an unexpected thing to .hear. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  • 5. Sarah  |  . at .

    I love that you have recognized this disorder and are doing what you can to combat it. Such a neat purpose for your 31 days!

    I started to say I didn’t have a joke for you, but here’s my funny for the day (otherwise known as my Facebook status):

    Listening to our choir music in the car… 🎶My spirit waits, my spirit waits for Emmanuel…🎶

    My Jonah-obssessed 2-year old from the back seat: “Wait, wait, wait… WHALE.”

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      ha ha ha! Isn’t it fun when kiddos are trying to make sense of new words and they totally misunderstand.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


