Finding Laughter: 9 More Ideas to Bring on Laughter (day 14 part two)

. at . Leave a comment

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writingI just came across this article, Laughter Is The Best Medicine. Besides listing the benefits of laughter, it also tells how to bring more laughter into your life. BINGO!

Here are some of the author’s  suggestions. Read the article to get more information.

One. Host a game night with friends. The women from church recently had a game night. There was a LOT of laughter that night. Maybe I could host one for some friends. Hmmmm. Want to attend?

Two. Count your blessings. I write a Friday’s Fave Five post most weeks. This is where I recount 5 blessings from the past week. Here is my most recent one. I also have a gratitude notebook. However, I have not been as faithful in recording a daily blessing. This is probably because I keep losing the notebook.

Three. Read the funny pages or a humorous book. I remember reading the funny pages as a kid every Sunday morning. You?  I am more likely to read funny books than the comics. I have several on my list that write31days folks have suggested.  I will post that list soon.

Four. Spend time with fun, playful people. I could add this to my laughter dates idea. However, I am fortunate that the folks I work with fit this description.

Five. Bring humor into conversations.I used to do this with my kiddos when they were younger. I’d ask, “So what funny thing happened today?” So be ready for an answer when I ask you the same.🙂

Six. Laugh at yourself. I want to be better at this and to REMEMBER to do this.

Seven. Surround yourself with reminders to lighten up. I am working on this. See Day 27 to find out what I did. 

Eight. Deal with your stress. This is a GREAT idea. When I am stressed, I become hyper-focused and grouchy. This is certainly the opposite of playful and laughter.

Nine. Do something silly. I am not good about being silly. Although I did write a post that had some silly ideas. These ideas are below.

  • Indulge in a secret persona. Wear fake mustaches or fake tattoos. Dress up as a super hero and go to lunch. Last year I had a sparkly unicorn painted on my cheek at a child’s tea party. Do you know that NO ONE said anything as I did my errands that day? NO ONE! But I felt silly and light-hearted.
  • Watch I Love Lucy reruns. Laugh at the silly antics.
  • Play with bubbles. Make a gigantic wand. Get coloured or scented bubbles. Go to this Pinterest board for a BUNCH of ideas. Or this one has good ideas too.
  • Give a bouquet to your friend, but not one of flowers. How about a bouquet of nail polish, tools, glow sticks, or balloons. The Dollar Store is a great resource for finding balloons and unusual items. Kids (of all ages) enjoy these. NOTE: It is  harmful to breathe some of the helium and talk in a Donald Duck voice (even though it is very silly).
  • How about soaking each other in silly string? It’s called silly for a reason.

Your Turn . . .

  1. Go read the article. There is a LOT that I didn’t comment on. What would you include that I didn’t?
  2. Which of the above are you really good at? What could use some practice?
  3. Give me a silly idea I can try at home.
  4. Share a resource (movie, book, anecdote, or joke).

NOTE: This is the 2nd post for Day 14. I had too much information for one post. Part One is here.

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October 2015 on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: , .

Finding Laughter: Update & a New Plan (Day 14 part one) Finding Laughter: 15 Quotes (day 15)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


