Finding Laughter: Update & a New Plan (Day 14 part one)

. at . 6 comments

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writing

This has been an up-and-down journey. I thought this would be a simple endeavor to find and add more laughter to my life. But I am finding it hard to find videos and books that consistently make me laugh – especially belly-laugh  for 10 consecutive minutes. I smile and find many of them entertaining but not many guffaws occur.

I also learned why this might be true. Laughter is mainly a social response. Much of the time I am by myself watching something on the internet; (I don’t have a TV). Studies show that people laugh 60% less when viewing by themselves.

My Plan. Laughter is highly contagious. Perhaps if I watched something with others, their laughter just might get me going. So I want to see if I can set up a laughter TV play date with someone soon. If you live near me, are you game?

Other things I am doing . . .

There is more information so I broke this post into part one and two. Here is the link for part two, 9 More Ways to Bring on Laughter.

Your Turn . . . What else would you add to my list?

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October 2015 on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: .

Finding Laughter: Laughter Yoga (Day 13) Finding Laughter: 9 More Ideas to Bring on Laughter (day 14 part two)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel G  |  . at .

    The community aspect makes a lot of sense to me. I don’t actually laugh when I’m alone all that often–but during family times, or time spent with my husband, there’s plenty of laughter!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      That is what I am learning, Rachel. Maybe it’s not that I am so much laughter-deprived as I am community-deprived. That si something for me to think about.

      And hurray that your family and you laugh togther so much. That is a gift. 😉

      Like

  • 3. Karrilee Aggett  |  . at .

    I think this is a great list! I hope/trust that you will fill us in on Laughter Yoga once you have checked it out! I have heard of holy yoga, and many other well known forms of yoga – but not laughter! Also – youtube and netflix are great for comedians… some of our favorites are Brian Regan, John Mulaney, Angelah Johnson, Kathleen Madigan …just to get ya started and maybe give you some new options!😉

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for the great list of comedians, Karrilee. I mainly know of the older ones (Lucile Ball, etc), I will be checking your suggestions out!

      I will let you know about the laughter yoga. I haven’t heard back yet so I will give them another call.

      I think I might freak out if Holy Laughter ever happened where I was. I don’t know why i say that, but that’s the feeling I have.

      Like

  • 5. Plaidfuzz  |  . at .

    I am a pretty reserved person, so I may “mentally laugh” at something, but usually my REAL, hearty laughter is elicited by my goofy children.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      I bet you have some great times at your home. That is an awesome atmosphere that you have created that they can be goofy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


