Finding Laughter: If You Can Joke, You Can Cope (Day 19)

. at . 2 comments

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writingThis TED TalkThe Epidemic of Over-Seriousness, had a lot of serious information. But Zara Swindells-Grose delivered it in a comedic fashion. I laughed, a lot, learned, and enjoyed the learning. Be sure to listen to this TED Talk. It was my favourite of all the talks on laughter.

Here are some of my notes on this talk.

When we are little we have no problem thinking big. But life changes us. As adults we forget that we have an unlimited, easily renewed, untapped, secret super power. Our super power is a sense of humour.

A good sense of humour is something that can’t be taken from us. And we need it. We are no happier now than in the 50’s. Back then the average age of depression was 29. Today it is 14 1/2. A million people a year commit suicide.

  • Humour requires intellect and psychological flexibility.
  • If you can joke, you can cope.
  • Humour helps us interpret life’s challenges through a more positive lens.
  • It gives us the gift of perspective.
  • Much of our coping style is genetic. But we can still become better at coping by becoming a humour-being.

Humour = keeping a light-hearted frame of mind . . . regardless of the circumstances.

It is inappropriate to be comedic all the time. But it is just as inappropriate to be serious all the time. Remember that capability and seriousness are not related.

I am more convinced than ever that developing my sense of humour is an important skill for me to learn.. This is especially true since I tend to be one of THOSE serious people. I am tempted to come up with a comedy routine. But I seriously have no idea how to view my life through a light-hearted lens. I don’t know how to write jokes. Help!

NOTE: Zara Swindells-Grose is a Director of Humour Australia (or HA!) and a member of the International Positive Psychology Association.

Your Turn . . . Are you a good joker? . . . if yes, how do you come up with jokes about your life?

Related Posts . . .

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October 2015 on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: .

Finding Laughter: Is Laughter Needed at Work? (Day 18) Finding Laughter: Suggestions From Readers (Day 20)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TAmmy mcdonald  |  . at .

    I’m not a jokster… Not even slightly clever. What is amazing is that when I speak ( and at times when writing) the humor just happens! I absolutely know it is God working through me because anyone who knows me KNOWS that isn’t part of my life. I have recently started allowing myself to really laugh at things instead of just grinning. It feels good to the heart!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. erinbambery  |  . at .

    I love to laugh. I think many things are funny. I am bad at creating jokes, or remembering them.
    I have never considered why, how, or what makes me laugh! After some thought, I came up with this list:
    Ironic, absurd and something like Far Side funnies.
    I will often giggle instead of cry. It relieves stress.
    Live, love and laugh…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


