Finding Laughter: Suggestions From Readers (Day 20)

. at . 3 comments

Finding Laughter 31 Days of writingDon’t all bloggers love comments? This is not only because there can be a connection; but also because you can learn from the comments. Below are comments that have helped educate me further about laughter.

WHY PEOPLE LAUGH

Jodi   – My most consistent source of laughter is my now four-year-old daughter but that doesn’t help you much! Maybe a comedy podcast to listen to on the way to work?

stuckinindiana –  I often laugh at myself… does that count?? My husband has a great sense of humor; so, he keeps me chuckling too!

Carol  – My brother and I used to lay on the floor and fake laugh until we were laughing so hard we couldn’t quit. It drove my mother crazy, but it always made us happy. Who knew it was scientific?! Maybe find a friend to laugh with you?

MADE ME GO “AHHHHH” 

Jodi – I use humour with my students (I teach for a school that caters for at risk youth and primarily work with a group struggling with anxiety and depression). It definitely helps break down barriers and build relationships.

Ruth  – I find beauty in being silly.

BOOK SUGGESTIONS

Tammy – Being a life coach that specializes in Grief and Loss, I fully understand the journey to laughter and joy. I would recommend the book “I’d rather be Laughing ” by Marilyn Meberg.

Dianne –  A friend recommended this book to me when I was “sitting on my nest,” pregnant with twins. Much laughter here! Worms in My Tea, and Other Mixed Blessings … By Becky Freeman.

Anita – I’ve never read a book on laughter before–but I have read a lot of funny books 🙂. I especially love Patrick F. McManus’ books

Carol – Marilyn Meberg and Patsy Clairmont have some great books filled with laughter and I agree with Anita, Patrick McManus books leave me in hysterics. Of course, those are funnier if you’ve ever done the outdoorsy things. There are some great youtube videos too!

Jenn – For The Love, by Jen Hatmaker was very funny and so relatable.

Sarah  Who am I kidding… I love all Mo Willems books; I don’t care that they’re written for children

Anita – funny you should mention Lincoln–I have a book of his stories, jokes and riddles published in the 1800s! I need to pull it out and look it over (it belonged to my great grandpa).

MOVIES AND INTERNET SUGGESTIONS

Tobi – I stream Friends on Netflix all the time, also love the movie Parental Guidance.. it’s hilarious.

Romi – The only movie I can think of right now is Patch Adams.

Anita – When my husband had cancer, there were at least two times that we laughed hysterically whilst watching a movie (My Cousin Vinny and Rat Race). The nurses got a little annoyed with us, but boy, did it feel good to laugh!

Barbara  I subscribe to a Good Clean Funnies list and get a joke a day.

Karrilee  Youtube and netflix are great for comedians… some of our favorites are Brian Regan, John Mulaney, Angelah Johnson, Kathleen Madigan.

Your Turn . . . Do you have anything else you would add to these categories?

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October 2015 on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Finding Laughter. I will spend time each day studying laughter to see if I can improve my laughter quotient.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

Read, learn, and discover with me what this world of laughter is all about and is it all that it’s cracked up to be. And be sure to leave a comment. Talking together will make for a richer, interactive experience for all of us.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Laughter, Main. Tags: .

Finding Laughter: If You Can Joke, You Can Cope (Day 19) Finding Laughter: 9 Laughter Date Ideas (Day 23)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  . at .

    This is such a fun post. I love the movie “School of Rock.” It is a feel good movie and makes me laugh. I am currently reading “For the Love”. Tina Fey’s book “Bossy Pants” was so good too. But my absolutely favorite book. It had me rolling on the floor laughing as well as crying is called “Confessions of a Prairie Bitch” By Alison Arngrim who played Nellie Oleson on Little House on the Prairie.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara  |  . at .

    When I need a really good laugh…I watch America’s Funniest Home Videos! Sometimes they make me flinch or think more “OUCH” than “HAHAHA”! But, well, the other night I was watching and they had babies…with their “poop” faces…oh, yes! Cute…but so funny!

    Thanks for sharing this “fun” post!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Jodi  |  . at .

    Some great suggestions there and thank you for including a couple of mine!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


