Friday’s Fave Five (10/29/15)

. at . 4 comments

leaf FFF“I have an obligation to seek out and find ways to demonstrate my gratitude for this life I enjoy,” (Stephen Lundin in Fish!)

These past two weeks have been especially busy. Last week I didn’t even take the time to write a post for FFF. This week I am doing it! To join in with this awesome gratitude practice, go see Susanne’s meme at Living to Tell the Story.

One. LOTS of unexpected help with Retreat. There are always lots of details to nail down or that come up the week before retreat. This time was no exception. I had help with proofing and notebook detailing (Lori and Trudy), anything to do with graphic production and placement – think signs, name badges, notebooks – (Marsha), printing (Shula & John), music (Jeanne). THANKS, ya’ll helped make this week not burdensome.

samlkdjlkd

Watch out, Tammie, you are being ball-barted.

Two. Retreat itself. The following (and more) happened – lots of connection (serious and silly) between women, good relaxation, time to get to know one another better, hearing and applying God’s Word especially regarding the fact that He is the God who sees and is involved in our lives.

During one ice breaker, we threw 4 balls around for 20 seconds at a time. When “STOP” was yelled the woman with the pink ball was “IT.” She looked at her right, index finger and read out loud the question under it. And of course answered it.

Three. Walk with my new partner. Our schedule didn’t mesh up much (because of retreat and other evening meetings) but we did get one walk in. Since we always have a LOT to talk about our time flies!

November is National Diabetes month and I plan on being more regular about my walks and health in general. Isn’t it sad that it takes a national month to get me more motivated?

I really needed my selfie stick but I forgot to bring it.

I needed my selfie stick but I forgot to bring it.

Four. Saw a movie. My ladies group from church had planned on seeing He Named Me Malala. But I made a BAD assumption. Just because a theater  showed  previews there doesn’t mean they’ll show the movie there. Evidently there are required to show all the previews of upcoming movies.  When Malala comes out on video we will show that at church (16 signed up).

Only four of us ended up going to the cinema anyway; we watched The Martian. It was intense and good! About a month ago I put this book on hold. I am now 26th on the list – out of 220 copies. I will let you know how it compares.

we had lots of choices for the cheese fondue: asparagus, mushrooms, cauliflower, broccoli, bread cubes, honey crisp apples, yellow peppers, new potatoes, pretzels

Say, :”Cheese!”

Five. Surprise party complete with cheese and chocolate fondue dinner/dessert. After the movie Bip and I went shopping for what we’d bring to the party the next night (pretzels, french bread and veggies). Valerie was totally surprised and we were all spoiled by the delicious food, decor, and company. It is soooooo fun to show up at an event as a guest.

The cheese fondue dippers were asparagus, mushrooms, cauliflower, broccoli, bread cubes, honey crisp apples, yellow peppers, new potatoes, and pretzels. It was all soooooo yummy.

Thanks for reading. Please leave a comment about something that happened this past week that you are grateful for,

 

 

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Finding Laughter: Laughter Is Part Of My Worldview (Day 29) Finding Laughter: Books Still on my Bookshelf (Day 30)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Glad the retreat went well and you had some good help preparing for it. There is always so much that goes on behind the scenes of these things. The previews for The Martian look intensely interesting. My d-i-l has a fondue pot – we haven’t had a fondue meal in a while. Maybe I’ll have to suggest one!🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Susanne  |  . at .

    Love the quote you started with! That game at the retreat sounds fun. I’m going to pass it on to my daughter for the youth group. We were going to go to the Martian too. My daughter loved the book,

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Willow  |  . at .

    Retreats are always fun and it is great that you had so much help.
    I’m glad for you that you have found a walking buddy. I sure miss mine–she moved away.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Faith  |  . at .

    yeah for great retreats with spiritual refreshing. Your food event sounds yummy….i love chocolate fondue! Walking is soooo good for us! i do some every day when im not hiking.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


