Ideas from this Date Over the Years

. at . Leave a comment

A cool feature (I think) from Facebook is that you can see what you’ve posted in years past on the same date. On today’s date (November 4th) I posted (among other others) about my health, politics, and Christmas. One reason I post these things is so that I’ll remember them for future use.

Only thing is, I hardly ever go back and do anything with the posted ideas. Or even if I wanted to, I have a hard time refinding them. So I am going to share some of these ideas that I don’t want to lose track of a 2nd time.

Christmas – Because it’s never too early for Christmas ideas, Plus Christmas is only 7 weekends away.

Politics – A friend posted this and I had to steal. This is wise advice.

Wise politcal advice

Another “P” word – Poetry – I am not a natural poetry reader. I have read 5 poems (all from my school years) that I still remember.

  1. The Raven – I am not sure why this Edgar Allan Poe poem has stayed with me all these years. But I usually read it once a year around Halloween. It seems a fitting, eerie poem.
  2. The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere – The exciting pulse and rendering of a historical event kept my attention and imagination captive. This link takes you to the poem in music form.
  3. The Children’s Hour – which I had to memorize and recite in front of the class. This is also a poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow; the Paul Revere poem was, too. I wonder if I heard them the same year from the same teacher?
  4. If – I kept a cheesy scrapbook in high school. I put in the obvious photos but also things of an inspirational nature. This poem by Rudyard Kipling was one of them.
  5. The 23rd Psalm – I learned this as a child. And I remember teaching it to my sister when she was a child. (I am the much, much older sister as she would say). I didn’t understand all the theological implications then, but it brought me peace.

This post, How to Read Poetry, a Step-by-Step Guide, gives 20 ideas on, well, how to read poetry. Since I’d like to better educate myself in this area, I a going to try these ideas. And I will look for 5 new poems to chew on. Any suggestions?

Tiny House inspiration – Someday I’d like to live in a tiny house in a beautiful setting.

My Health.

  • A friend tagged me to share this post about what beneficial things can happen when you drink water on an empty stomach.
  • I wrote this post(which links to Twitter and FB) on 3 Ways to Get More Gratitude in Your Life. What would you add to this list?
  • On this date in 2008 I evidently didn’t feel well as someone wished me success in getting better soon. Oddly enough. TODAY I woke up with a COLD complete with the constant drip- like so drippy you put toilet paper in your nose. Oh, you don’t do that.

If you are on Facebook, what did you post in your years past? 

Entry filed under: Bucket List, goals, Main. Tags: , , , .

Fall Bucket List 2015 Update – October Friday’s Fave Five 11/6/2015

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


