Preparing for Life’s Emergencies: 19 Ideas

. at . Leave a comment

emergencyOn Saturday, March 19, 2016 the women of CNC watched The 33. Did you watch The 33 with us? Or have you seen this movie recently?

Wasn’t it intense?

I was struck by many thoughts, but one of the most important ones is a question actually. “How prepared am I for the emergencies in my life?”

I have an earthquake kit with enough provisions for 72 hours. Although after sharing my kit with the ladies at our last movie event, it was pointed out that I didn’t have a Bible in there. That has now been rectified! So now I get a check-mark next to “physical emergency.”

But how prepared am I for the emotional and spiritual emergencies I will encounter in life? I WILL encounter such things.

Peter says in 1 Peter 4:12 (NLT), “Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you.”

Jesus says in John 16:33 (CEV), I have told you this, so that you might have peace in your hearts because of me. While you are in the world, you will have to suffer. But cheer up! I have defeated the world.

So when we come upon fiery trials and suffering, they don’t have to be emergencies. We know they are coming. We can prepare in advance for them.

  • Peter tells us to keep the long view in mind, “Wonderful joy is ahead of us.” Read the whole chapter (I Peter) to get a better idea of what I am talking about.
  • And Jesus also tells us to keep the truth in mind; He has already defeated the prince of this world and his hold on us. We can have peace because of who Jesus is and what He has done for us.

At our event we brainstormed some ways we can prepare for our fiery trials, sufferings, and emergencies.  What would you add to this list?

  1. Pray a lot and out loud
  2. Have a buddy
  3. Read the Word of God
  4. Be part of a local church
  5. Stay in touch with friends and family
  6. Memorize Scripture
  7. Read God’s Promises Book
  8. Keep a close relationship with God
  9. Know God is trustworthy
  10. Know God is enough
  11. Practice disciplines (some are) taught in “His Yoke is Easy” sermon series
  12. Read Job
  13. Remember the example of other God-fearing people like Corrie Ten Boom
  14. Keep a sense of humor
  15. Practice gratitude
  16. Realize that you can change the way you feel
  17. Be part of a small group
  18. Be real with God and others
  19.  Listen to God 

Your Turn . . . How do you prepare for those difficulties that Jesus and Peter say we will have?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

My 2016 BINGO Reading Challenge #Write31Days Starts October 1st

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


