Goal: Complaint Free for a Whole Month

. at . 4 comments

fruitfulwords1How many times a day do you complain? The folks I talked to thought the number wasn’t very high, like MAYBE 5 times a day. A few admitted that they complained way too much.

My daily complaint average is probably between 5-30 times.  This is especially true if I have a lot of driving to do, deal with a lot of service providers or the technology I use is slow, or doesn’t work. The bad thing about complaining is that I don’t feel better after doing so. I FEEL frustrated, angry, helpless, ARGH!

And because complainers (like me) don’t normally talk to the person involved, the situation doesn’t get resolved. This is certainly true in my case. So now I feel doubly frustrated, angry and helpless.

This month I am going to do no complaining. I like the campaign started by Will Bowen, a pastor from Kansas City.  The idea is simple – go 21 days in a row without complaining. If/when you do complain, you start over.

Bowen suggests using a bracelet to track this. Directions – – – You put it on one wrist. Every time you complain, switch to the other wrist. Your experiment is over when the bracelet stays on one wrist for 21 days in a row.

Here are some ideas to track your No-Complaining . . . 

  • Buy a purple Complaint Free World bracelet from Bowen’s online store.
  • Use a rubber band to track this.
  • There is an app that can help you with your tracking.
  • Use a calendar a la Jerry Seinfeld style. Dedicate a calendar to this project. Everyday you go complaint free, put a big X through the day. Complain? Start over at Day 1. Your goal is to get 21 X’s in a row.

However I want to do more than a grumble-fast this month. I want to replace my negative words with positive, fruitful ones. And I want to cultivate a mindset that is anti-negative. That is where a good portion of this month’s writing will focus.

To help with this focus, I bought a thin silver-plated bracelet with the word “GRATITUDE”stamped on it.

Today is DAY 1: Goal – NO complaining.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. What types of things do you complain about?
  2. How many times a day do you think you complain? Is this a problem for you or those around you?
  3. Do your complaints change the situation/people (in a positive way)?
  4. Leave a comment.
  5. Join me! If you join, how will you track your no complaining?

Related Resources . . . 

Read about two folks who took this challenge and the impact it had on them.

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words. The category is Personal Endeavors. I will spend time each day on this topic to improve the quality of my thinking and the words coming out of my mouth

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts in one spot.

I am committing to this online writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , , .

#Write31Days Starts October 1st You Just Might be a Potty Mouth

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbie  |  . at .

    I think I complain way too much. I complain about the weather, my lack, the mess in my house, among other things. This is going to be a great series for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie S  |  . at .

    I complain more than I should, but not as much as I used to. I usually complain about others. It rarely changes things until I actually take my complaint to the other person involved, which I will do if it’s something of substance.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. MaryHill  |  . at .

    I complain too much about my pain and health. I want to start focusing on important things: my love of God, home, family, and my daughter and grands.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Bee  |  . at .

    This is cool. I hope to stop complaining too much from now on. Haha. Easier said than done. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


