You Just Might be a Potty Mouth

. at . Leave a comment

fruitfulwords125Are you a complainer but think you are okay because you don’t use “bad” words? 

Like me, you might think you don’t have a potty mouth because you aren’t in the habit of swearing. But take the following quiz and you may change your mind. Be honest, no one has to see your answers.

Choose one of the following for each statement – – – – – – – –– – – – – – – – – –  Never … Sometimes … Always.

  1. I tell off other drivers when I am on the road – They can’t hear me so it doesn’t count. Plus their actions made me respond this way.
  2. I vent about poor service – I’ve paid for it so this is definitely my right.
  3. I complain about others – It won’t do any good to tell that person.
  4. I have a discontented heart and share the whys – Who wouldn’t with my life?
  5. I grumble and vent frequently – I am entitled to better, faster, and easier. And I have zero tolerance for idiots.

SCORE MEANING

  • 0 Never = You have a joy-filled and praise-filled heart. Therefore your life is one of gratitude and gracious words. You’ve earned the Fruitful Words Award.
  • 2-4 Sometimes  =  Watch yourself carefully, these actions can become habits too easily. The more categories you picked, the more of an issue you have with potty mouth. Take action now to combat that.
  • 1 Always =  You have a potty mouth. Stop and take evasive action. Even one Always answer can adversely impact your life.

How did you do?

  • Did you come up with a clean sweep of “Never”?
  • Or like me, were you surprised to see that for at least one category you wrote “Always”?
  • What did you think about the “excuse” written for many of the actions?

I didn’t include swearing on this list which is the true definition of potty mouth. But let me define potty mouth and see if it could be more than swearing.

  • Potty Mouth is speech characterized by rude and vulgar words.
  • Rude speech contains words that are discourteous, offensive, and ill-mannered.
  • Vulgar words means not having or showing good manners, good taste, or politeness.

Yep, complaining = potty mouth. Complaining fits all the above descriptors … impolite – discourteous … ill-mannered – lacking good taste… and offensive. Even though I don’t care for the description, I have to wear the potty mouth tape across my lips.

But I am not stuck in this course of action. There is something I can do. I can change my behavior especially when driving in traffic. That is what these 31 days are all about, going from Potty Mouth to Fruitful Words.

Update on the No Complaining Challenge: I am on Day 2 – the bracelet is still on my left wrist.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. How did you do on the assessment quiz?
  2. Were you surprised at all?
  3. Id there an excuse or two that you feel justified in using?
  4. Are you ready to make a change? Then come back tomorrow and we will start this deliberate adventure into becoming people of Fruitful Words.

Related Resources . . . 

  1. Good Words Spotlight My Thoughts & Actions
  2. What If The Wholesome Words Were Bleeped?
  3. 31 Days of Finishing (2014 #Write31Days series)
  4. Finding Laughter (2015 #Write31Days series)

Today is Day 2 of the #Write31Days online October writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts from this series.

Go here to see what #Write31Days is all about, the categories and the bloggers who are participating.

 

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing. Tags: , , , .

Goal: Complaint Free for a Whole Month Surprising Reasons We Shouldn’t Complain

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


