Surprising Reasons We Shouldn’t Complain

. at . Leave a comment

fruitfulwords125

 

Do you think that complaining, moaning, and grumbling is a harmless past time? Or do you think it can really stink up our lives and the lives of those around us? I belong to the second camp of thinkers.

Studies have shown that even a few days of stress [negativity and complaining are stressful] damages the neurons in the hippocampus (the part of the brain used for problem solving and cognitive functioning), and impairs its ability to create new neurons.

Over time this can result in the hippocampus shrinking, which can cause a decline in cognitive functions such as memory and the ability to adapt to new situations. – By Jessica Stillman

Read the rest of the article By Jessica Stillman: Complaining Is Terrible for You, According to Science.

Any repeatedly exercised muscle gets faster and stronger. As we repeatedly complain, this link in the brain gets faster and stronger making it easier to complain.  Complaining really does become an automatic response to life. We become a more and more negative person.

Here are some other reasons why we shouldn’t complain.

  • It is a bad example.
  • It reflects poorly on me.
  • It shows I am not a grateful person.
  • God says to not complain.
  • In truth when I am complaining, I am complaining against God.
  • It is contagious.
  • People rarely listen and reflect, instead they complain, too.
  • People won’t want to be around me. Or I will attract negative people.
  • I am showing an entitled attitude, my ideas ARE always the best ones.
  • I let impatience and pessimism rule my heart. This makes me feel depressed.
  • Complaining drains my energy.
  • My focus is on the problem and not the answer, therefore, nothing changes.
  • I feel badly about myself.
  • Complaining makes me feel impotent and angry.
  • I lose my inner peace and perspective.
  • My body gets flooded with cortisol, a stress hormone. This negatively impacts my physical and mental health.
  • I let lies rule my thinking.
  • I act like I can’t handle issues and people. I am in victim-mode.
  • This destroys communication and healthy bonding.

Update on the No Complaining Challenge: I complained! Back to Day 1.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. I was surprised at how BAD complaining is for your brain. What do you think about that?
  2. Which of the ideas resonated? Why?
  3. What would you add to the above list?
  4. Join me in my No Complaining Challenge.

Related Resources . . . 

Today is Day 3 of the #Write31Days online writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts from this series.

Go here to see what #Write31Days is all about, the categories and the bloggers who are participating.

Entry filed under: 51 Things to Do In 365 Days, Main. Tags: , , , , .

You Just Might be a Potty Mouth Books for 31 Days of Fruitful Words & No Complaining

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


