Using Fruitful Words to Combat Complaining

. at . 7 comments

fff-delicate-leavesIt is Friday and so I want to look back at my last week and share five of my favorite blessings.  Filling my head with good news, positive memories, and great outcomes help me stave off complaining. This is my No Complaining Month.

If you’d like to join in with Friday’s Fave Five, write a post and link it here to Susanne’s meme. She writes at Living to Tell the Story.

ONE. I bought a new bottle of shampoo. It smells yummy (coconut) and makes my hair feel so soft. Why is it that I run out of shampoo way before I run out of hair conditioner? Do you have that issue?

fruitfulwords125TWO. This month is #Write31Days. My topic and action plan is No Complaining.

  • My 1st goal is to not complain for 21 days in a row. I had one set back so I am on Day 12 of no complaining. I am wearing a Gratitude bracelet to help me stay alert.
  • My 2nd goal is to have only fruitful words come out of my mouth: praise, gratitude, positive solutions. I am grateful for this opportunity to make sure I keep a guard on my lips and that I have a cheerful attitude especially when times are a challenge (like when I am driving).

THREE. I am connected with a school in the Middle East that accepts kiddos with special needs. I am grateful for Facebook because we get periodic updates. This week one of the youngsters received a wheelchair from a grant. His life is a little easier now. And the smile on the student’s face is AWESOME. And because pf Facebook a bunch of us could share in the joy of this answered prayer.

all-at-ksfFOUR.  Last weekend I went to So Cal with a mom and her teens. Each teen brought a friend and I was the friend for the mom. We went to Knott Scary Farm and Huntington Beach. Both venues were a lot of fun. And I experienced a lot of firsts: funnel cake, white chocolate candy, Knott Scary Farm, and listening to the Bible on DVD. We listened to Mathew-Luke.

FIVE. MY BED. I really enjoy my job – a lot. But I also enjoy vacation days. We had Monday off and I did a lot of sleeping. I caught up from my time in So Cal. So the last item on my gratitude list is my bed. It is so comfy. And being able to wear pj’s ALL DAY added to me feeling sooooo relaxed.

Your Turn . . .

  • What is your favourite smell for a shampoo?
  • What do you do to keep yourself from complaining?
  • If you are on Facebook, what do you most appreciate about it?
  • I haven’t been to a haunted house in decades. The ones at Knott Scary Farm were the right amount of scary and fun. I did scream but not from fear, but because I was startled. When was the last time you’ve gone to a Haunted House? Will you go to one this year?
  • If you had a holiday on Monday, what was the most favorite thing you did?

No Complaining Update: I am now on Day 12/21 of no complaining.

Today is Day 14 of the #Write31Days online October writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016.

Go here for the landing page which has all the posts from this series.

Go here to see what #Write31Days is all about, the categories and the bloggers who are participating.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Main. Tags: , , , .

Colouring Combats Complaining Using H.A.L.T. to a Complaint-Free Life

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Colletta  |  . at .

    I used to always run out of conditioner before shampoo. Now I use a 2-in-1 and run out at the same time! lol I hope you can stop by:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2016/10/tea-time-dapper-man-and-his-girls-101416.html

    Colletta

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 2. Faith  |  . at .

    Wow…we have a lot of questions to answer for you🙂
    Sounds like you had a wonderful week of blessings. Well, I’ve had several faves for shampoo smells but my absolute fave is tea tree and mango. The reason we tend to go through conditioner less often is, if you are doing it correctly, you only need a TINY bit to work through your hair……otherwise it can feel weighted down. (a tip from my stylist). the thing I appreciate about FB is being able to stay connected with undergrad friends and extended family. We don’t believe in going to Haunted Houses nor did my children participate in Halloween due to the dark side spiritually speaking but we do hand out treats to the neighbor children. (now that the mine are older). We do go through corn mazes and go pick apples and pumpkins though…we love God’s creations!! I’m not working this school year but because 2 friends had monday off and my hubby had to work, I went HIKING!!!! it was awesome. And to help NOT complain, I simply try to set a tone in the home of NO complaining but remembering to be grateful…..setting a tone in the home first thing in the morning is vital I have learned. I’m not perfect at it but it’s my new goal for the year.🙂 I think i answered all your ?.🙂 happy weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 3. GiGiMandy  |  . at .

    1) I love lavender! 2) Not much of a complainer but try to lift praises to God when others complain. There is always some to PTL for 3) love the friendships I have developed on FB 4) not much for Halloween haven’t been in a haunted house since high school.. still scared after that one! ha! 5) not really a holiday, we were recovering from Hurricane Matthew!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 4. smile7850  |  . at .

    I really need encouragement to stop my complaining… this ole world can really get to me… and your posts on No Complaining really help to refocus! I do try to off set so much negativism with more thankfulness.. I spend a lot of my quiet time in thanksgiving… I need to learn to really see the small blessings everyday. Time to start blogging on small mercies again! I do like facebook and especially the items that I really enjoy like the Uplifting Christian blessing type posts, the lovely seasonal posts, travel related posts especially on England and Ireland… I love to fill my page with the beautiful things I enjoy on FB. I dont do Halloween,,, do not enjoy anything that makes horror entertaining. As a retired school teacher.. every day is a holiday… I have such very recently gotten so I can enjoy an very short ap mid afternoon… but it must be short or I cant sleep through the night!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Funny – I just tossed out some conditioner because I couldn’t stand the coconut smell, LOL! I have a bad reaction to many scented things (candles, perfumes, etc.), so I really don’t like my shampoo to smell like anything other than “clean.” I run out of conditioner before shampoo because I only use conditioner a couple of times a week.

    I thought about #write31days but ended up sitting out this year. Part if me misses the hubbub but part of me is glad not to have to keep up with it.🙂 Mainly I just had other things I wanted to write about that didn’t really fit in a 31 day series, and I didn’t want to post twice a day. Not complaining is a good goal. I always wrestle between evaluating and complaining, but really, too often it’s complaining.

    Neat about the school you’re connected with, and the trip sounds fun! But I agree, there’s no place like one’s own home and bed (and bathroom!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 6. Kathie  |  . at .

    I”m impressed with your No Complaining month. I catch myself complaining every now and then – especially exasperated sighs….but it never helps so why do it? I think what helps me not to complain is I always feel worse afterwards – and so do others – knowing that puts a lid on it!

    Favourite shampoo smell is coconut.

    I like fb to keep in touch with friends who i don’t see as often.

    Don’t do haunted houses as I don’t like being scared.

    Monday was Thanksgiving here in Canada and I recovered from our big family get-together which we held on Sunday. It was a great day to rest and relax as we were experiencing the remnants of Hurricane Matthew. Lots of wind and rain.

    PS – I love my bed too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ann  |  . at .

    I use two bottles of shampoo for every one of conditioner. 🙂 Coconut-scented shampoo is nice – really, I just enjoy having any new scent from time to time!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


