Five Blessings and No Complaints

. at . 11 comments

fff-delicate-leaves

Time to remember and share another five blessings from this past week. Doing this helps me stay on target with no complaining. I am doing this gratitude exercise and linking up at Susanne’s blog, Living to Tell the Story. Join us in this weekly meme. There is plenty of room.

I am on Day 19. My goal is 21 days in a row of not complaining.

Blessing #1I made it through another week of not complaining. I almost lost it on Day 17 but I remembered in the knick of time to ask for what I wanted. Asking for What You Want Is Scary But It Stops Complaining. On Day 18 I was able to stop my complaining mid-sentence. Adding a “BUT” Turned Situation from Complaining to Resolved.

grandma-with-2

Blessing #2 – I spent the day with my grand children on Saturday. We hugged and talked. We walked to a harvest festival where we ate pizza with cheese and basil, walked through a HUGE bubble and petted a goat and bunnies.

pensive-with-pumpkins

Blessing #3 – I had creative time. I was at a team meeting tonight and one of the ladies said, “If Susan is involved in something there will be a craft.” Yep, and even when I visit my grand kiddos there will be a craft. Saturday night we decorated faux pumpkins from the Dollar Store. The medium choices were paint and/or gluing on torn bits of construction paper. I did only gluing. Sofia chose to glue on paper and paint. Tia chose the only painting option. That one was given away to a friend.  . . . The pumpkin on the far right is melted crayons. I made it two weeks ago and when I showed Sofia (via FaveTime) she asked  if she could have it. Of course, sweat pea. Of course.

Blessing #4 – I had a healthy and tasty snack 3 days last week. It was an easy to prepare, old-fashioned snack of cold, fresh celery logs topped with almond butter. Yummm. I cannot remember the last time I ate that. I need to buy more celery and almond butter.


bannerBlessing #5 –
I have a photography app on my iPhone that I’ve had forever and I just started using it this week: PicsArt. It is so fun. It turns photos into watercolour, deco art and so on. This is the photo that I doctored.

I love the quote, too: “Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” I want to live my life this way.

Your Turn . . . 

  1. What is your easiest, favourite, healthy snack? Do share.
  2. How do you release your creative juices?

fruitfulwords125Related Resources . . . 

Read about two folks who took this challenge and the impact it had on them.

I am joining 100’s of others at #write31days to write every day in October on a single topic. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words. The category is Personal Endeavors. I will spend time each day on this topic to improve the quality of my thinking and the words coming out of my mouth

I am committing to this online writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016

Today is Day 21 of the #Write31Days online October writing challenge. My topic is 31 Days of Fruitful Words INSTEAD OF COMPLAINING. I know I will be challenged in more ways than writing every day. If you’d like to have more fruitful words coming from your mouth, please join me from October 1-31, 2016.

Go here to see what #Write31Days is all about, the categories and the bloggers who are participating.

Entry filed under: 31 Days of Writing, Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Main. Tags: , , , .

Asking for What You Want Is Scary But It Stops Complaining Five Blessings

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    I love your no complaining challenge!! I think i will share your challenge with my family😀

    your grandchildren are beautiful…and those pumpkins! super awesome!

    I have that same app on my ipad ( my smartphone is only the old gs and just too small for me to use many apps… these old eyes cant handle it!) i enjoy playing around with photos too.

    one of my fave healthful snacks is a do it your self trail mix i make of lightly salted almonds, dried pineapple, pieces of 70% dark chocolate, and chia seeds.

    or another one i do more often is apple slices ( empires, cortlands, or gala) dipped in sunflower butter. YUM!

    enjoy the weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Love the idea of making your own trail mix. You put chia seeds in the mix without any moisture? I never heard of doing that?

      Liked by 1 person

  • 3. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Yay for another day without complaining! Sounds like you had a great time with the grandkids. Neat pumpkin decorating ideas! I’ve about decided to paint rather than carve mine next year, too. Nice job on that doctored photo!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      And next year I think our kiddos will be old enough to carve. lol. Although it really was nice to not have to deal with the slimy innards.

      Like

  • 5. wendyj59  |  . at .

    Well that’s an interesting challenge. Well done for getting this far. I’m not sure I could. Spending time with grandchildren sounds like fun. (I don’t have any yet so I’m always envious of people who do.) You’re much more creative than I am too. Have a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Pinterest has helped me in the creativity department. I’ve always had the desire but am not so great at coming up with my own ideas.

      Like

  • 7. Ellen  |  . at .

    Love the quote you shared. Looks like your resolve is bringing benefits to you. Well done. Sweet photo with the grands. Hope you are having a joyful weekend.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, I am getting the hang of REALLY thinking about what I am going to say when I am feeling stressed.

      Like

  • 9. a spirit of simplicity  |  . at .

    I got a new phone and forgot all about picsart! I am going to add it to my new phone because it is fun!! I allow complaining only the first 5 minutes of every hour. One may not complain any other time during the day. It’s amazing the impact it has.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Willow  |  . at .

    My favorite healthy snack? Probably hummus and chips although I love love love grapes and snap peas.
    I wonder if I could do that no complaining—good for you for making all the way!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    That looks like a fun app — helps that you have an adorable subject😉

    A super resolution, that no-complaints goal. I also like that you made it a limited time span, but long enough to have an effect in your thinking patterns.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


