Friday’s Fave Five – November 3, 2016

. at . 4 comments

fff-delicate-leavesIt’s the beginning of November and gratitude is in the air and in my heart. I am joining in with this meme (Friday’s Fave Five) to make sure that the gratitude stays in my heart. Feel free to join in the meme or in the comments with your gratitude list.

Blessing One – Shoe and Sock Drive and Food for Neighborhood Meals. Once a month our church provides a yummy dinner for people (homeless, lonely, low-income). This month the Women’s Ministry from my church recruited folks to make meatloaf and brownies. And we had a successful sock and shoe drive. I am grateful that Cheryl took oversight of this project.

I had dinner and a chat with one of our guests. He told me,  “I can’t believe that I got new socks and a pair of shoes that fit! [He is a TALL gentleman.] AND I got this hooded sweatshirt that FITS as well. I am so grateful.”

I am grateful that someone came to the church while we were setting up and donated a BIG plastic tub FULL of things like that hooded sweatshirt. And I am grateful that despite a rainy afternoon (but dry evening), 90 folks received the blessings of a home-cooked meal and footwear.

Jeremy, Bip and Susan (me) showing off our carved creations.

Jeremy, Bip and Susan (me) showing off our carved creations. It was easier using tools from a carving kit

Blessing Two – Carved real pumpkins. Last week I decorated faux pumpkins with my grand daughter and her great aunt. This past week I carved a real pumpkin with Bip. She told me she’d never carved a pumpkin before and I thought we needed to rectify that.

I finally learned how to take a photo at night. I don't know why it took me so long to learn.

I finally learned how to take a photo at night. I don’t know why it took me so long to learn.

I provided the pumpkins and her husband, Jeremy, provided the toolkit. I don’t have a lot of patience for carving so mine is always basic. But this year I did the eyes a little differently. And I think it is just right for being in the middle of this set of 3.

I am grateful for the friendship and company of these two folks who are also ministry partners. And I am grateful that we got to make some fun memories together.

Blessing Three – Watched a movie after I read the book. This year one of my book reading goals is to read books that were made into movies this year. So far I’ve read the following:

  • The BFG by Roald Dahl
  • The Circle by Dave Eggers
  • The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins
  • A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The First (of Three) Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Children by Ramsom Riggs
  • Silence by Shusaku Endo

And on Tuesday (movies are $5), Bip and I watched Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It was a good portrayal of the book.

Going to the movies was our reward for doing some things for our Saturday morning Sisters in Prayer Reveal.

3-pumpkin-centerpieceBlessing Four –  Fall Crafting. Seems like this time of the year, I HAVE to take time to do some crafting. This past week I made two fall centerpieces. I craft not only for the finished product, but also because it is so relaxing.

Ths is one of the projects. The “pumpkin” on the bottom is really a yellow and green squash. I sponged orange paint on all three vegetables before inserting toothpicks and hot glueing them together.

I will make another centerpiece. I will use a bigger pot next time as I think this one is a little on the small side.

Big sister dressed up as a butterfly for Halloween. In this photo it looks like Sissy is surprised at her older sister's costume.

Big sister dressed up as a butterfly for Halloween. In this photo it looks like Sissy is surprised at her older sister’s costume. When you take LOTS of photos, you can often luck out on a great one.

Blessing Five –  Halloween. I worked in the morning. And while there, we had 20 Trick-or-Treaters. 3 days a week there is a memory care day group at our church. Every year they come to the office to get sweets and they always give us a decorated bag of sweets. too.

Then I drove to my son’s home. I got to  Trick-or-Treat with my grand daughters. I spent the night so I had extra time to apply faux tattoos, bake pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, read, and  do some crafting.

I had a blessed week. I hope you did ,too.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF). Tags: .

Five Blessings

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    that is a great butterfly mask and a priceless pic of,yourmgranddaughters!! how fun to make memories with fellow Christians…lI weote about the same blessing!
    sounds like you had a great week filled with good things.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. nikkipolani  |  . at .

    What a terrific idea to hold a sock and shoe drive — even better that there was thoughtfulness for those with unusual sizes like your tall visitor. Love his thankful heart.

    Glad you enjoyed a good movie-adaptation. Sounds like Bip had a great introduction to pumpkin carving🙂 Adorable shot of your girls.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    The shoe and sock drive is such a neat idea, and I enjoyed hearing the response of the man with the unusual sizes finding just what he needed. I had never carved pumpkins until my d-i-l came into the family and wanted to, so mine are pretty basic as well. Those turned out cute! Nice idea to read a book and then see the movie. I’ve not seen or read any of those but the trailers have looked interesting. What a great shot of your granddaughters. Beautiful butterfly mask!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Willow  |  . at .

    You had a great week! I love the idea of the sock and shoe drive. I know a ministry in Portland where I used to live always hands out clean, new socks which everyone living on the streets loves.
    I tend to be the person who won’t watch a movie until I’ve read the book. I like your plan.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

58 Books to Read During my 58th year

The Big DayMarch 12th, 2017
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 644 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


