Friday’s Fave Five June 9, 2017

. at . 6 comments

“Write injuries in dust, benefits in marble,” (Benjamin Franklin).

That is a healthy way to live. So endeavoring to write in marble today, I will share some of the benefits of this past week.

ONE. Declutter Bug. Every once in a while I get the urge to purge. Thankfully this is one such week. The shelves above my microwave and basket on the toilet tank received my attention. I hope this “bug” sticks around for a while.

Your Turn . . . How do you maintain possession overwhelm?

Related Post . . . Identifying Not Just Goals, But Legacy Goals Makes Junk Tossing Easier

TWO. Read. Even when it is busy, I usually take time to read some everyday. Reading helps me wind down and stay OFF social media especially at night. This week I finished The Eden Prophecy by Graham Brown. 

Your Turn . . . What do you do to wind down? Name the last, best book you’ve read.

Related Post . . . 13 Benefits of Reading

THREE. Facetime. I am always grateful to spend in person time with family. But when I can’t, I LOVE Facetime. This week I’ve had the opportunity and privilege to have FT with my grand daughters.

Your Turn . . . How do you keep in touch with family especially grandchildren?

FOUR. Accountability. School is out for the summer. That means I get to spend more time with my teacher friends. One friend (Michelle) and I are summer accountability partners. We want to lose weight by August 10th. Each morning we text each other with our weight. I also text her my blood sugar number. I have already seen some good changes (and results) happening because of this focused attention.

Your Turn . . . Have you found accountability to be a useful tool?

Related Post . . . 12 Motivating Ideas for Goal Achievement

FIVE. Summer bucket list. Since I am already working towards one thing from any to-do list I have, I thought I’d also make up a comprehensive Summer Bucket List. I love making such lists. I love dreaming about all the possibilities. And when I have accountability built-in (like by posting this and doing a half-way through review post), I get more done. And that is also exciting.

The things that would make the most impact on my Summer are losing weight and learning Spanish. The first item is seeing progress. The second? Nothing so far. But I want to keep telling myself that I Can do Hard Things. 

Your Turn . . . Are you a Bucket List Fan? What Activity Are You Still Working Up The Courage To Try? Looking back at Summer 2017, what two things could you do that would make it AWESOME?  

Related Post . . . How Does God Fit in with Goal Setting?

Please join us and make your own list in marble. New to Friday’s Fave Five?  Go here to find out what it is all about. Or leave your gratitude comments on this post.

I am linking to Friday’s Fave Five at Susanne’s Living to Tell the Story.

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF). Tags: , .

Ministry Flash Mob Gives Love 7 Reasons to Eat Salad

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  . at .

    I de-stress by reading, crocheting or making knitted hats, and getting on the internet (to husband’s dismay). 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I love it when those decluttering moods strike. I’m normally a sentimental keeper, but at those times I’m more ruthless in getting rid if things.

    I usually read a bit every day, too. I saw a comment once that said the person felt they grew stagnant if they didn’t read, and I do as well. I also wind down with some games on my iPad mini, one of them jigsaw puzzle app that give me one free puzzle a day. I don’t really care for jigsaw puzzles in real life but I do like this app – maybe because it’s out of the way and completed in one sitting. 🙂 A couple of good recently read books are The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser (novel) and When Others Shuddered: Eight Women Who Refused to Give Up by Jamie Janosz (non-fiction).

    We very much enjoy FaceTime with our oldest who is out of state, but even my little grandson nearby likes to FaseTime in-between visits.

    I’ve never really had a bucket list. My d-i-l was just asking me about that the other day, so I have been thinking about it a little bit. My one thing I’d most like to do is write a book.

    Thanks so much for praying for me!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    great list of blessings here! let’s see if I can answer your questions:

    to de-stress i power walk or hike, bike, kayak or sit on my deck and read psalms in the nice months and in the winter months to de stress i either take a short brisk walk, drink a hot cup of coffee, play piano, dance or do step aerobics or read. i actually do those things anyways and dont often get stressed…..sometimes a nice glass of wine if im feeling anxious about something but again, very rare for me.

    last best book was Tears of Dark Water..lthe review is up on the blog. it was excellent.

    i do not have grandchildren yet as i am only 57 and have a 23 yr old and 18 yrs old daughters. but i keep in touch with extended family by phone, texts, emails, and real letters! i skype once in a while but not much unless with our niece in England.

    i have had a bucket list for years and love checking things off of it! my summer bucket list includes a hike up the highest NY mountain.

    am confused about your statement ” back to summer 2017″. if you mean looking forward to summer 2017 ( two more weeks until summer!!!!) then what would make it awesome is if my oldest found a full time jib and my youngest has a smooth transition to collegemin NH.

    have a happy weekend!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Gattina  |  . at .

    No to do list here, because I am in a lazy phase ! I always say i’ll do it tomorrow ! I keep contact with my grandson through Skype, Unfortunately he has never time, he is 6, lol !

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Willow  |  . at .

    My de-stressers are knitting, gardening (specifically pulling weeds), reading and walking.
    I keep lists all the time and I do have a bucket list–on the bucket list is visiting Alaska.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Susanne  |  . at .

    Reading is definitely my go-to to destress and wind down. I also love to bike ride but that usually only happens on the weekends. I love a good list and I love seeing things crossed off.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
8 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 736 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


